Split operation doesn't respect "not using cache"

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
Borek
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016-12-30, 08:27 UTC

Split operation doesn't respect "not using cache"

Post by *Borek » 2016-12-30, 08:51 UTC

Hi
I'm not sure if it's a bug but the File Split operation fills memory even when "not using cache" copy mode is selected. Today it caused outage of our production SQL server :(

Borek

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36438
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-01-02, 11:14 UTC

The "split" function doesn't use any of the special copy modes. The problem with the "big file copy mode" is that it cannot write blocks of any size - it's usually limited to a multiple of the cluster size. This can make it impossible to completely fill a removable medium.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply