[9.0ß2-x64] FTP panel font changes when dialog font is set

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, Stefan2, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

[9.0ß2-x64] FTP panel font changes when dialog font is set

Post by *Flint » 2017-09-28, 12:00 UTC

When you have FontNameDialog present in wincmd.ini (even with default value), the FTP panel (log lines above the file panel that appear when you connect to FTP or some FS plugins) becomes incorrect. It looks like it takes the font name from one option, size from another option, and width from somewhere else.

Only 64-bit version.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7871
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-09-28, 13:19 UTC

If you are talking about this: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/ftp-log-font.png I cannot see any difference from what it used to be - the font in this field does not seem to be controlled by TC's font-setting at all
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-09-28, 13:42 UTC

petermad
Yes, ths field. This font indeed shoud not be controlled by TC fonts, and it is not in 32-bit version, but it is affected by changes in 64-bit TC. Try changing all 3 fonts in Configuration -> Fonts, then restart TC and recheck (without restart it might not get reproduced).
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36004
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-09-28, 14:35 UTC

TC uses a smaller font size there so you can actually see two lines of text with most settings.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-09-28, 15:22 UTC

ghisler(Author)
Behavior is different in 32 and 64-bit versions. 32-bit looks OK, but 64-bit uses some strange font which can become quite large.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7871
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-09-28, 16:25 UTC

Try changing all 3 fonts in Configuration -> Fonts, then restart TC and recheck (without restart it might not get reproduced).
I did, but I cannot reproduce it.

I even tried with a clean ini where all I changed were the fonts:
[Configuration]
UseNewDefFont=1
SetEncoding=äö.do.not.remove
firstmnu=2810
FirstTimeIconLib=0
FirstTime=0
test=131
onlyonce=0
TrayIcon=0
UseRightButton=1
Savepath=1
Savepanels=1
MarkDirectories=1
AlwaysToRoot=0
SingleClickStart=0
RenameSelOnlyName=0
SaveCommands=1
SaveHistory=1
EverythingForSize=0
CountSpace=1
CountMarked=1
1hourdif=0
CopyComments=6
CommentPreferredFormat=4
IconClickSelection=1
SeparateTree=0
PanelsVertical=0
[FileSystemPlugins64]
$checksum$=3014672
[ButtonbarCache]
IconDll_default.bar=
IconDll_vertical.bar=
[1280x1024 (8x16)]
FontSize=8
FontName=Microsoft Sans Serif
FontSizeWindow=8
FontNameWindow=Microsoft Sans Serif
FontWeight=700
FontWeightWindow=700
FontNameDialog=Microsoft Sans Serif
ConnectX=393
ConnectY=309
ConnectDX=493
ConnectDY=376
ConnectMax=0
[AllResolutions]
FontSize=8
FontName=Microsoft Sans Serif
FontSizeWindow=8
FontNameWindow=Microsoft Sans Serif
FontWeight=700
FontWeightWindow=700
FontNameDialog=Microsoft Sans Serif


Wich OS are you using? - I have so far tried under Windows 7 and 10
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-09-28, 17:23 UTC

I'm using Win7. Here's what my TC looks like after some font configuration:

Image

INI file I can reproduce this with:

Code: Select all

[1920x1080 (8x16)]
FontSize=12
FontName=Comic Sans MS
FontCharset=204
FontSizeWindow=24
FontNameWindow=Courier New
FontCharsetWindow=204
FontWeight=400
FontWeightWindow=700
FontNameDialog=Times New Roman
FontCharsetDialog=204
The FTP panel font is definitely Times (as in Dialog font), but bold and large size — as in Main Window font.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7871
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-09-28, 18:28 UTC

This is the culprit: FontCharsetDialog=204

There is something wrong with th FTP-log font when the charset is set to anything else but Western.

Interestingly enough this setting is absent when set to Western, while the two other ones: FontCharset and FontCharsetWindow is set to 1 when Western is chosen.

When using the same ini-file in the 32bit version of TC the font for the FTP-log is also set to Times New Roman, but the size is normal.

See: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/ftp-log-x64.png and http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/ftp-log-x86.png

Ini-file: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/wcmd_tmp_ftpfonts.ini
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka » 2017-09-28, 18:42 UTC

petermad wrote:Wich OS are you using? - I have so far tried under Windows 7 and 10
I use Win 8.1 Pro x64 and have TC x32-x64 - wincmd.ini respectively for the same two bit, but in 9.10 I see this: http://s1.bild.me/bilder/110417/84891602017-09-28_211431.png

p.s. However, on a clean installation - with such settings:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
UseIniInProgramDir=7
ThumbsLocation="%TEMP%"
TreeFileLocation="%TEMP%\treeinfo%D%.wc"
and new manually FTP connection - seems everything is fine: http://s1.bild.me/bilder/110417/75566832017-09-28_214016.png :?

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-09-28, 19:28 UTC

petermad wrote:This is the culprit: FontCharsetDialog=204
Strange, I thought I had this reproduced with only FontNameDialog set. But I cannot now… Oh well, maybe missed it somehow.
When using the same ini-file in the 32bit version of TC the font for the FTP-log is also set to Times New Roman, but the size is normal.
Indeed, confirm. I was first testing with same font, only size changed, so I didn't see that, and didn't re-test 32-bit after configuring all different fonts for screenshot.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36004
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-09-29, 10:28 UTC

It was indeed a bug in 64-bit version: Both versions use the font from the dialog boxes when using a different encoding than Western, because the default font "Microsoft Sans Serif" may not contain the encoding. There was an error setting the font size in 64-bit only.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36004
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-04, 15:13 UTC

This should be fixed in TC 9.10 beta 3 64-bit, please test it! It should use the same font as the dialog boxes (but smaller) when the font isn't Western, just like the 32-bit version.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7871
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-10-04, 20:33 UTC

Confirmed fixed in TC 9.10b3 (x64) :-)
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka » 2017-10-05, 01:28 UTC

I confirm, my problem, described above, disappeared in TC 9.10b3 x64. :)

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-10-05, 22:13 UTC

Indeed, confirm fixed in β3.

Although it's a bit unintuitive that the font used in that log window is defined only partially in TC settings — font face is applied but not the size…
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

Post Reply