This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[9.10ß3] Multi Rename Tool: [E#-#] is not working properly

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3130
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:49 pm    Post subject: [9.10ß3] Multi Rename Tool: [E#-#] is not working properly Reply with quote

This is not 9.10β specific but was just reported on a Russian forum.

(I'm not sure about posting this all together, but all these bugs look related to me.)

Bug No.1
1. Select some file(s) with non-empty extensions and open Multi Rename Tool.
2. Click the [E#-#] button, select any part of the extension.
3. Turn on the option "Measure last character from the end", press OK.
4. Nothing is added to the Extension editbox.

Bug No.2
pp. 1, 2 are the same.
3. Turn on the option "Use [first,last]…", press OK.
4. The [E…] template is appended to the Name editbox instead of Extension one.

Bug No.3
1. Select at least one file or dir without extensions, open Multi Rename Tool.
2. Put cursor on a file without extension and click the [E#-#] button.
3. Instead of opening the dialog, TC immediately inserts [E1-3] into the Extension editbox.
I understand that there is nothing to select from, but TC should either suggest some fake extension instead, or simply do nothing.

Bug No.4
1. Select at least one file or dir without extensions, open Multi Rename Tool, do NOT put .
2. Do NOT put cursor anywhere in the list and click the [N#-#] button.
3a. If the cursor in TC panel was set on some file/dir, the dialog will use this name for selection.
3b. If the cursor was set on [..], the name of a random file from the list will be used.
4. Now press [E#-#].
5. No matter where the cursor in TC panel was (even if it was on a file with extension), TC just inserts [E1-3] into the Extension editbox, without dialog.

P.S. There are many problems also with [#-#], [P#-#], etc. commands of the [#] button drop-down menu. For instance, when "Measure last character from the end" is set, selection is not applied at all (TC inserts just [], or [P], or [G], etc.).
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7425
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
2. Do NOT put cursor anywhere in the list and click the [N#-#] button.
3a. If the cursor in TC panel was set on some file/dir, the dialog will use this name for selection.

Not here, it is set to some random file/dir name (the same each time for the same selection in the main panel)
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b12 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34906
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that the [E...] entry isn't added.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34906
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have checked this now:
#1 is a bug, will be fixed
#2 too
#3 is intentional: Since there is no extension, the user couldn't choose anything in the dialog
#4 is intentional too: If you don't put the cursor on a file, TC uses the name of the first in the list. Then #3 is applied (no extension)

Quote:
There are many problems also with [#-#], [P#-#], etc.

It's actually the same as #1: When I added this feature, I updated only the [N#-#] button.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3130
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
#4 is intentional too: If you don't put the cursor on a file, TC uses the name of the first in the list. Then #3 is applied (no extension)

Not according to my tests. See the screenshot:
http://flint-inc.ru/Temp/tcbeta910/tc-mrt.png
I selected all files in my TC dir, put the cursor on the [..] (you can see it in the background), opened MRT, pressed [N#-#]. TC suggested the name "TOTALCMD64-9.00b15a" which is not the first file.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34906
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, [N#-#] is special, it suggests the longest name!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3130
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author)
I see. It's a bit confusing. Maybe make [E#-#] do the same when no file is selected — suggest the longest available extension?
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7425
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
No, [N#-#] is special, it suggests the longest name!

Aha - good to know - makes sense BTW.

Quote:
Maybe make [E#-#] do the same when no file is selected — suggest the longest available extension?

I agree.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b12 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34906
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually extensions aren't longer than 3 characters, so I didn't add the 'longest' search as I did for the N placeholder. I prefer to keep it this way for consistency with older TC versions.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34906
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bugs 1+2 should be fixed now in RC1, as well as the problems with [P], [G] etc. from the dropdown list. Please test!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7425
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that bug 1 and 2 are fixed in TC 9.10rc1 Smile
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b12 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3130
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, confirm fixed in rc1.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group