[9.11 RC1] Editing file in ZIP doesn't work

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 783
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

[9.11 RC1] Editing file in ZIP doesn't work

Post by *umbra » 2017-10-29, 15:52 UTC

STR:
1. Create a ZIP archive containing one folder and in it one text file. The text file cannot be in the root folder of the archive, it must be in the subfolder.
2. Navigate with TC into the archive, open Find Files dialog and let it search for all files/folders in the archive.
3. Select the text file in the search results and press F4 to edit it.
4. Change the content of the file, save it and close the editor.

TC should ask whether it should repack the archive. But it doesn't. The file is unchanged and so is the whole archive. The next time you try open (F3) or edit (F4) the file, TC will ask whether it should rewrite its existing temporary copy or not.

This can be reproduced in both x32 and x64 versions of TC 9.1x.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3109
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2017-10-29, 16:35 UTC

Confirmed
Windows 10 Home x64 October 2018 Update
Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.134)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.921 (x64)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36504
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-30, 11:28 UTC

Thanks, I could confirm it too. It works after "feed to listbox", though.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 783
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra » 2017-11-03, 20:01 UTC

The issue is fixed in TC 9.12 RC2 x86 and x64.
Thanks
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

Post Reply