Inter line change after moving back from high DPI monitor

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
serg_joker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-08-27, 14:51 UTC

Inter line change after moving back from high DPI monitor

Post by *serg_joker » 2017-10-31, 08:39 UTC

HI,
TC 9.10
I've got 3 monitors, 2 of them with 96DPI, the third - high DPI ( not sure exactly which DPI itis, but it's 4kscreen on 15''laptop). The main monitor is 96DPI.
Sequence is like this:
1. Start TC on main ( 96DPI ) display.
2. Move to 4K (High DPI) display. Font is changed, everything feels good.
3. Move window back to main monitor. Font is adjusted properly, but inter-line distance in file panel gets bigger.
Good picture ( beffore any movements )
Image: https://imgur.com/a/IKdf7

Bad picture ( after moving to high DPI monitor and back )
Image: https://imgur.com/a/CC1aB

Just in case my font settings
Image: https://imgur.com/a/UQhJc

C:\Windows\system32>systeminfo | findstr /B /C:"OS Name" /C:"OS Version"
OS Name: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
OS Version: 10.0.15063 N/A Build 15063

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-31, 11:10 UTC

Unfortunately I cannot reproduce it.

Please right click on the desktop and choose the second menu item from the bottom. It should be something like "Display settings".

Then please report for each screen from left to right
1. The screen resolution (e.g. 1920x1080)
2. The DPI value (e.g. 96)
3. Which of the screens from the left is the main screen

Please also try to log out (via user icon in the start menu) and back in, this often fixes screen scaling problems.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-01, 10:25 UTC

Please reply! I couldn't reproduce your problem so far.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

serg_joker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-08-27, 14:51 UTC

Post by *serg_joker » 2017-11-03, 14:12 UTC

Hi Christian,
1) 1920x1200 scale 100% DPI96 - 24'' monitor
2) 2560x1600 scale 100% DPI96 - 30'' Monitor
3) 3840x2160 scale 200% DPI ~300 ( no idea exactly, it's 15.6'' laptop Lenovo p51 )

The main is #2.

If you wan't we could arrange session with skype/teamviewer/whatever.
Thanks,
Sergey.

serg_joker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-08-27, 14:51 UTC

Post by *serg_joker » 2017-11-03, 14:14 UTC

Just verified: if I set scale for #3 to 100% the problem is not reproduced.
Also, it's not just panels problem, main menu suffers form this as well.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-03, 15:40 UTC

Of course not - when all screens use the same scale factor, TC doesn't need to resize its window.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

serg_joker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-08-27, 14:51 UTC

Post by *serg_joker » 2017-11-09, 12:02 UTC

fixed with 9.12rc2
Thank you very much!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-09, 15:49 UTC

Nice to hear that - I didn't really expect that my change would work! All I do is call an additional "InvalidateRect" to refresh the window when receiving a WM_DPICHANGE message. This should redraw the main window and the two file panels.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

serg_joker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-08-27, 14:51 UTC

Post by *serg_joker » 2017-11-09, 17:34 UTC

Well, the way Windows deals with DPI ( both user part and API ) looks and behaves a bit strange.
Anyway, you're the man, thank you for your great support!

Post Reply