This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC release 9.1: Internal Viewer Doesn't work for Videos
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:10 pm    Post subject: TC release 9.1: Internal Viewer Doesn't work for Videos Reply with quote

I really use every day the internal TC viewer for all files type: docs, excel, pdf, but I find it very useful mainly for images and videos.
Since I installed the release 9.10, unfortunately I found problems with video viewer: by using ctrl+Q, the videos are not reproduced correctly in the opposite panel, but they are shown in different ways: some mp4 re shown correctly, other don't show anything, other are shown in full screen, video *.mov are shown only in the top left side of the screen, etc. Also using F3 the problems are the same.

I tried to install again the release 9.0 and everything returns fine.
Can someone help me to understand how to solve the issue. Is there some setting for the new 9:1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7323
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which plugin do you use to view mp4's and mov's? - Lister does not show mp4 and mov movies by itself.

Are you using a DPI setting (zoom-factor) other than 96 / 100% on your system? - There has been made a lot of changes to TC's handling of DPI scaling between v. 9.0 and 9.1 - maybe that could be the cause.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The DPI setting is 96.
About the plugin, I'm not so sure because I don't remember exactly what are the right plugins I installed. What I can see now in Lister plugin are:
mmedia.wlx
ulister.wlx
ImgView.wlx
factory.wlx

How can I detect what is the plugin used to show mp4 and avi files?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
How can I detect what is the plugin used to show mp4 and avi files?

If you press F3 on the mp4 file, lister window opens and the plugin name is shown at window title.
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:40 pm    Post subject: Internal Viewer and Quick View Panel Ctrl+Q Reply with quote

I agree with fc62 - there must be problems here.

Code:
.MP4 .............. Internal Viewer with file under cursor - F3 ! CTRL + Q
----------------------------------------------------------------! ---------------------------------------------
TC 9.0a ........... opens Lister-window and plays the video ....! plays the video inside of the other TC-window

TC 9.10 and .. ) opens Lister-window with F3 - NO video is shown in lister, but in a separate "ActiveMovie Window",
TC 9.11RC1 ... ) CTRL+Q opens a separate "ActiveMovie Window" and plays the video

I use IrfanView as internal viewer (%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe).
TC - 64 bit, Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 1703 (Build 15063.674)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case F3 on a mp4 file opens Lister window with Windows Media Player inside.
Window title shows just the video title => no plugin involved!
(Running on Windows 7)

I tried some mp4 files and find just one which does not play with lister.
An analysis with MediaInfo reveals just a minor difference:

Compression mode: Lossy
Video Bit rate: 1 048 kb/s kb/s => failed to play

Compression mode: no such entry
Video Bit rate: 2 493 kb/s => plays fine

Note:
- same results for TC 9.10 / 9.11 RC1 at 32-bit / 64-bit
- both files are playing fine with VLC player
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the same for me: with F3 on a mp4 or mov file opens Lister window with Windows Media Player inside and Window title shows just the video title => no plugin involved.
But what I found very useful before it was to use ctrl+Q thus to see the preview inside the other Tc-window, and now this is not anymore possible with Lister because it opens a separate window that has different size and position case bay case.
In my installation, AVI files works well because I have the "mmedia" plugin that intercept the command and so the preview is showed correctly inside the other Tc-window.
Now I would try irfanView, but anyhow the new Lister in TC I thinks doesn't work well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case Ctrl+Q always shows the preview inside the other TC window.
Just Shift+Ctrl+Q opens a separate window ...
So , no problem with Ctrl-Q on Windows 7

May be different for Windows 10 ?
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7323
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest version 2.62 of mmedia does not show the plugin name in the titlebar - instead it replaces Lister's title by "Artist / Title (duration)" OR "FileName (duration).

Try and press Ctrl+F while the movie is shown - if it is mmedia showing the movie, then the "Media information"/"Options"/"Info" page is shown: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/mmedia-mp4.png (this screenshot is with version 2.61 which still show Lister (mmedia) in the titlebar.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a solution by modifying the file "mmedia.ini" placed in totlcmd directory:

I added the following instruction I found somewhere in forum:

"[ext]
MMEXT=mpe,mpg,m1v,mpeg,wma,wmv,avi,aiff,wav,au,snd,aifc,rmi,midi,mid,cda,wvx,wax,asf,asx,vob,ifo,dat,3gp,flv,mp4,ts,mov,mkv
MP3EXT=mp2,mp3,m3u,ogg,pls,amr,m4a"

In this way all the media files are played with the plugin mmedia.wlx without using the Lister inside in TC. Now ctrl+Q works fine with all media types.
Thanks to all for the helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2691
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sqa_wizard wrote:
In my case Ctrl+Q always shows the preview inside the other TC window.
Just Shift+Ctrl+Q opens a separate window ...
So , no problem with Ctrl-Q on Windows 7

May be different for Windows 10 ?

No its not different on Windows 10.
Works here fine as for you in Windows 7 Very Happy
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.125)
Fall Creators Update
TC 9.12 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
No its not different on Windows 10.

Happy those ones who have already Fall Creators Update. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuska
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:09 am    Post subject: Re: Internal Viewer and Quick View Panel Ctrl+Q Reply with quote

tuska wrote:
I agree with fc62 - there must be problems here.

Code:
.MP4 .............. Internal Viewer with file under cursor - F3 ! CTRL + Q
----------------------------------------------------------------! ---------------------------------------------
TC 9.0a ........... opens Lister-window and plays the video ....! plays the video inside of the other TC-window

TC 9.10 and .. ) opens Lister-window with F3 - NO video is shown in lister, but in a separate "ActiveMovie Window",
TC 9.11RC1 ... ) CTRL+Q opens a separate "ActiveMovie Window" and plays the video

I use IrfanView as internal viewer (%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe).
TC - 64 bit, Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 1703 (Build 15063.674)


No change in TC (x64) 9.12RC2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't reproduce this on Windows 7, but it seems to happen on Windows 10 - I will investigate.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2691
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuska wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
No its not different on Windows 10.

Happy those ones who have already Fall Creators Update. Cool

No problem, I just downloaded the ISO and made the update from it.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.125)
Fall Creators Update
TC 9.12 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group