TC release 9.1: Internal Viewer Doesn't work for Videos

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-06, 16:30 UTC

TC release 9.1: Internal Viewer Doesn't work for Videos

Post by *fc62 » 2017-11-01, 22:10 UTC

I really use every day the internal TC viewer for all files type: docs, excel, pdf, but I find it very useful mainly for images and videos.
Since I installed the release 9.10, unfortunately I found problems with video viewer: by using ctrl+Q, the videos are not reproduced correctly in the opposite panel, but they are shown in different ways: some mp4 re shown correctly, other don't show anything, other are shown in full screen, video *.mov are shown only in the top left side of the screen, etc. Also using F3 the problems are the same.

I tried to install again the release 9.0 and everything returns fine.
Can someone help me to understand how to solve the issue. Is there some setting for the new 9:1?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8004
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-11-02, 02:29 UTC

Which plugin do you use to view mp4's and mov's? - Lister does not show mp4 and mov movies by itself.

Are you using a DPI setting (zoom-factor) other than 96 / 100% on your system? - There has been made a lot of changes to TC's handling of DPI scaling between v. 9.0 and 9.1 - maybe that could be the cause.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-06, 16:30 UTC

Post by *fc62 » 2017-11-02, 16:43 UTC

The DPI setting is 96.
About the plugin, I'm not so sure because I don't remember exactly what are the right plugins I installed. What I can see now in Lister plugin are:
mmedia.wlx
ulister.wlx
ImgView.wlx
factory.wlx

How can I detect what is the plugin used to show mp4 and avi files?

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3374
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2017-11-02, 19:17 UTC

How can I detect what is the plugin used to show mp4 and avi files?
If you press F3 on the mp4 file, lister window opens and the plugin name is shown at window title.
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Internal Viewer and Quick View Panel Ctrl+Q

Post by *tuska » 2017-11-02, 21:40 UTC

I agree with fc62 - there must be problems here.

Code: Select all

.MP4 .............. Internal Viewer with file under cursor - F3 ! CTRL + Q
----------------------------------------------------------------! ---------------------------------------------
TC 9.0a ........... opens Lister-window and plays the video ....! plays the video inside of the other TC-window
TC 9.10 and .. ) opens Lister-window with F3 - NO video is shown in lister, but in a separate "ActiveMovie Window",
TC 9.11RC1 ... ) CTRL+Q opens a separate "ActiveMovie Window" and plays the video

I use IrfanView as internal viewer (%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe).
TC - 64 bit, Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 1703 (Build 15063.674)

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3374
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2017-11-02, 23:03 UTC

In my case F3 on a mp4 file opens Lister window with Windows Media Player inside.
Window title shows just the video title => no plugin involved!
(Running on Windows 7)

I tried some mp4 files and find just one which does not play with lister.
An analysis with MediaInfo reveals just a minor difference:

Compression mode: Lossy
Video Bit rate: 1 048 kb/s kb/s => failed to play

Compression mode: no such entry
Video Bit rate: 2 493 kb/s => plays fine

Note:
- same results for TC 9.10 / 9.11 RC1 at 32-bit / 64-bit
- both files are playing fine with VLC player
#5767 Personal license

fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-06, 16:30 UTC

Post by *fc62 » 2017-11-02, 23:33 UTC

It's the same for me: with F3 on a mp4 or mov file opens Lister window with Windows Media Player inside and Window title shows just the video title => no plugin involved.
But what I found very useful before it was to use ctrl+Q thus to see the preview inside the other Tc-window, and now this is not anymore possible with Lister because it opens a separate window that has different size and position case bay case.
In my installation, AVI files works well because I have the "mmedia" plugin that intercept the command and so the preview is showed correctly inside the other Tc-window.
Now I would try irfanView, but anyhow the new Lister in TC I thinks doesn't work well.

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3374
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2017-11-02, 23:54 UTC

In my case Ctrl+Q always shows the preview inside the other TC window.
Just Shift+Ctrl+Q opens a separate window ...
So , no problem with Ctrl-Q on Windows 7

May be different for Windows 10 ?
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8004
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-11-03, 00:26 UTC

The latest version 2.62 of mmedia does not show the plugin name in the titlebar - instead it replaces Lister's title by "Artist / Title (duration)" OR "FileName (duration).

Try and press Ctrl+F while the movie is shown - if it is mmedia showing the movie, then the "Media information"/"Options"/"Info" page is shown: http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/mmedia-mp4.png (this screenshot is with version 2.61 which still show Lister (mmedia) in the titlebar.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

fc62
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-06, 16:30 UTC

Post by *fc62 » 2017-11-03, 01:07 UTC

I found a solution by modifying the file "mmedia.ini" placed in totlcmd directory:

I added the following instruction I found somewhere in forum:

"[ext]
MMEXT=mpe,mpg,m1v,mpeg,wma,wmv,avi,aiff,wav,au,snd,aifc,rmi,midi,mid,cda,wvx,wax,asf,asx,vob,ifo,dat,3gp,flv,mp4,ts,mov,mkv
MP3EXT=mp2,mp3,m3u,ogg,pls,amr,m4a"

In this way all the media files are played with the plugin mmedia.wlx without using the Lister inside in TC. Now ctrl+Q works fine with all media types.
Thanks to all for the helps!

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3036
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2017-11-03, 07:51 UTC

sqa_wizard wrote:In my case Ctrl+Q always shows the preview inside the other TC window.
Just Shift+Ctrl+Q opens a separate window ...
So , no problem with Ctrl-Q on Windows 7

May be different for Windows 10 ?
No its not different on Windows 10.
Works here fine as for you in Windows 7 :D
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.254)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.910 (x64)

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2017-11-03, 13:06 UTC

Horst.Epp wrote:No its not different on Windows 10.
Happy those ones who have already Fall Creators Update. 8)

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Internal Viewer and Quick View Panel Ctrl+Q

Post by *tuska » 2017-11-03, 16:09 UTC

tuska wrote:I agree with fc62 - there must be problems here.

Code: Select all

.MP4 .............. Internal Viewer with file under cursor - F3 ! CTRL + Q
----------------------------------------------------------------! ---------------------------------------------
TC 9.0a ........... opens Lister-window and plays the video ....! plays the video inside of the other TC-window
TC 9.10 and .. ) opens Lister-window with F3 - NO video is shown in lister, but in a separate "ActiveMovie Window",
TC 9.11RC1 ... ) CTRL+Q opens a separate "ActiveMovie Window" and plays the video

I use IrfanView as internal viewer (%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe).
TC - 64 bit, Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 1703 (Build 15063.674)
No change in TC (x64) 9.12RC2.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-05, 10:09 UTC

I couldn't reproduce this on Windows 7, but it seems to happen on Windows 10 - I will investigate.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3036
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2017-11-05, 11:31 UTC

tuska wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:No its not different on Windows 10.
Happy those ones who have already Fall Creators Update. 8)
No problem, I just downloaded the ISO and made the update from it.
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.254)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.910 (x64)

Post Reply