This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Custom columns & Search list box – no extension shown
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.0x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:52 am    Post subject: Custom columns & Search list box – no extension shown Reply with quote

For custom columns there are not listed file extensions in default undeletable extension column. If there is newly added extension column the extensions are listed in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2918
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed
The default Ext column shows the extension just fine in my custom views.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.112)
TC 9.20rc2 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35745
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.


No, no. I have set up aligned (with Tab).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
Not confirmed
The default Ext column shows the extension just fine in my custom views.


See pictures at
http://software919.sweb.cz/Extension.png
http://software919.sweb.cz/Sort%20by%20name%202.png
http://software919.sweb.cz/Sort%20by%20name.png

Issue probably relates to fact that also sorting by default name column does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 377

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hugobruno wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:
You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.


No, no. I have set up aligned (with Tab).

Your Extension.png screenshots says rather "Yes, yes". Wink
Are you really sure that you have the file extensions set to "aligned (with Tab)"?
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elgonzo wrote:
hugobruno wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:
You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.


No, no. I have set up aligned (with Tab).

Your Extension.png screenshots says rather "Yes, yes". Wink
Are you really sure that you have the file extensions set to "aligned (with Tab)"?


Surly no, no.

See http://software919.sweb.cz/Tabstops%20Settings.png .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 1927
Location: Europa

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hugobruno wrote:


Surly no, no.

See http://software919.sweb.cz/Tabstops%20Settings.png .



You have checked the "Configuration - Options - Tabstops" option

to show the extension aligned (with Tabs)


but the extension are shown directly after the file name?
And the 'Ext.'-column is shown empty?


Which TC version is this? Version and bit?
On which OS and OS-bit?


Can you please provide the settings of the wincmd.ini?

How-to:
-- Menu Configuration > Change Settings File Directly
-- In wincmd.ini search for 'Tabstops='
-- and post that line here. (be sure to find all such 'Tabstops=' -lines if any)




 
_________________
The destination is one thing. Getting there is everything.


Last edited by Stefan2 on Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stefan2 wrote:
hugobruno wrote:


Surly no, no.

See http://software919.sweb.cz/Tabstops%20Settings.png .


Yes, Yes Very Happy

You have checked the option to show the extension directly after the file name. So the 'Ext.'-column is shown empty.


ghisler(Author) wrote:
You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.




Please describe again what your main issue is (if not this post already answer it).




 


Maybe I see another picture than you but on my screenshot there is definitely chosen the radiobutton with value “aligned (with Tab)”.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 1927
Location: Europa

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, you are to quickly for me.
Please see my modified post above Very Happy




 
_________________
The destination is one thing. Getting there is everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stefan2 wrote:
Sorry, you are to quickly for me.
Please see my modified post above Very Happy




 

Ok. NP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[i]
Stefan2 wrote:
hugobruno wrote:


Surly no, no.

See http://software919.sweb.cz/Tabstops%20Settings.png .



You have checked the "Configuration - Options - Tabstops" option

to show the extension aligned (with Tabs)


but the extension are shown directly after the file name?
And the 'Ext.'-column is shown empty?


Which TC version is this? Version and bit?
On which OS and OS-bit?


Can you please provide the settings of the wincmd.ini?

How-to:
-- Menu Configuration > Change Settings File Directly
-- In wincmd.ini search for 'Tabstops='
-- and post that line here. (be sure to find all such 'Tabstops=' -lines if any)




 


Information:
■ TC 9.0a 64 bit, (2016-12-14)
■ OS Win 10 64 bit
■ Tabstops:
1)
Tabstops=242,246,305,181,771,93
2)
[Tabstops]
0=242
1=246
3=305
4=181
6=771
5=93
AdjustWidth=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6049
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When feeding search results to the list the extension is always shown directly behind the name. The extension column is shown to be able to sort by it.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
When feeding search results to the list the extension is always shown directly behind the name. The extension column is shown to be able to sort by it.

Regards
Dalai


If so as you said it can ben considered terrible Wink since default columns are faulty especially in opposite to custom ones and cannot be deleted for no reason. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugobruno
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
You probably have the option checked to show the extension directly after the file name. Then the extension header is shown only for sorting by extension.

The option can be found in menu
Configuration - Options - Tabstops.


No, I definitely not. See pictures at links on other posts.
(Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:48 pm, Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:03 pm)

Maybe next feature to TC could be removing Name and Extension default columns from custom columns since there is option to obtain them from list.

(See also Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:52 pm.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.0x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group