This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Strange Search and Replace diacritics error
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:48 am    Post subject: Strange Search and Replace diacritics error Reply with quote

Hello,

I am trying use newest TC for diacritics characters in file names search and replacement.

I have this trouble:

1. I have files with diacritic in name - copied from email (possibly was created on IOS system)

When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement

2. I was create test file with diacritics characters in name directly in my Windows and in this file TC searching and replacing all diacritics characters good


I cant´t drop here video link I will do tomorrow

This is strange, possible some different encoding cause ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7802
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2yard
Quote:

When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement

How do you try to search and replace? - If I use TC's Multi Rename tool for that task, it works fine for me.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 377

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure you have identified the characters properly?
Note that there two similar-looking diacritics/accents: acute and grave.

Acute: á ý
Grave: ŕ ỳ

And then there are some more diacritics, but it would be hard to confuse those with either the acute or grave unless you have vaseline covering your eyes... Wink

(Also worth noting: Cyrillic letters a and y might look exactly like their latin counterparts, but they have different code points in Unicode. And they also have diacritic variants, although not with acute or grave...)
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 1072

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Strange Search and Replace diacritics error Reply with quote

yard wrote:
This is strange, possible some different encoding cause ?

I think you're on the right track.
It's probably an Unicode normalization issue, i.e. your filenames are in NFD, while your keyboard input produces NFC and therefore won't match in TC's multi-rename tool.

You could use my NFCname plug-in, either to scan/check if those filenames really are in non-NFC, or to convert them to NFC with TC's multi-rename tool.
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petermad wrote:
2yard
Quote:

When I am trying search and replace for example diacritics ý or á ... etc. then TC make no replacement

How do you try to search and replace? - If I use TC's Multi Rename tool for that task, it works fine for me.


CTRL+M

look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 377

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yard wrote:
look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ

What sort of puzzle game is that???

Neither screencast.com/this/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ does nor screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ does work... Confused
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What sort of puzzle game is that???

For that I am newbie user, I can´t post here, this is rule of this forum, antispam..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Strange Search and Replace diacritics error Reply with quote

milo1012 wrote:
You could use my NFCname plug-in, either to scan/check if those filenames really are in non-NFC, or to convert them to NFC with TC's multi-rename tool.


How can I use this tool, I have it installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 377

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yard wrote:
What sort of puzzle game is that???

For that I am newbie user, I can´t post here, this is rule of this forum, antispam..

Don't blame the forum software for your PEBCAK. Rolling Eyes
While it is true that the forum software does not allow newbies to post URLs as-is, you can't blame it for making it nigh impossible for other users to build a working URL from your description.

If i were a newbie like you and i needed to post a URL like "http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=49371", i would do something like this:
Code:
ghisler.ch </> board </> viewtopic.php <?> t=49371

Do you see how easy it is to describe a URL without actually writing a "forbidden" real functioning URL?
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7802
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2elgonzo
Quote:
Acute: á ý

I copied á ý here from this webpage and then made a new file "á ý.txt" by pasting á ý to the file name - this file I now renamed using the Search & Replace function of the Multi-Rename Tool..
.
See http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/searchreplace.png

As you can see no ploblem here.

-------------------

Quote:
look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ

Quote:
Neither screencast.com/this/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ, screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ does nor screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ does work

I have the same problem - none of the combinations work - and I cannot imagine many other combinations from the given info (look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ)

http://screencast.com/thisvideo/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/this/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/video/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/t/cFniDxopaZ

http://screencast.com/this.video/cFniDxopaZ
http://screencast.com/this.video.cFniDxopaZ
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Don't blame the forum software for your PEBCAK. Rolling Eyes


Sorry but I was simply try post and still have warning, I haven´t time study whole forum for way howto..

ok .. thanks for info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

screencast-o-matic com</>watch</>cFniDxopaZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am so sorry

Quote:
look at screencast com this video cFniDxopaZ


screencast o matic is correct domain

correct link is above
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 377

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay. From your video it looks like an issue as pointed out by milo1012.

While i do not know his plug-in, this should be the way how you should use it to solve your issue:

  1. In the Multi-Rename-Tool, underneath the file name text field is a button named "[=?] Plugin". Click it.

  2. A window opens, in which you first select Miro's plugin and then select the property/function of the plug-in that will provide the NFC (pre-composed Unicode) file name. Click OK.

  3. Now you will see that the chosen plug-in function has been added to the file name mask. You probably also need to remove any other tokens such "[N]" from the file name mask.

  4. Finally, proceed with replacing the diacritic characters.

If it doesn't work at first, try different properties/functions offered by Milo's plugin and see what happens... ...or just wait for Milo's reply Wink
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yard
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elgonzo wrote:

[*]A window opens, in which you first select Miro's plugin and then select the property/function of the plug-in that will provide the NFC (pre-composed Unicode) file name. Click OK.


Great, this works:

[img]</></>i<.>imgur<.>com</>X2iRzsE<.>png[/img]

Edit by Mod.
//i.imgur.com/X2iRzsE.png



 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group