This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Desktop Icons refresh when starting TC
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jdop
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 Mar 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:41 pm    Post subject: Desktop Icons refresh when starting TC Reply with quote

Windows 7 X64.

TC is not the only program causing this, but since I run it frequently , I see this often. Every time it's launched , all my desktop Icons refresh.

Tried to rebuild the icon cache by usual methods, but that had no impact.


What could be causing the load of TC (or any other program) to force the desktop to refresh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdop
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 Mar 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not happening on a clean windows profile, so something got hosed up on my main, quite elderly install thats forcing this refresh on certain program loads only.


Looked at ProcMon to see what was going on , but thats not really my forte.

Thought someone might have a clue as to what to do.

Did the Google search thing already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35725
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm seing this too, even on Windows 10, but unfortunately I have no idea what could be causing it. If anyone knows how to avoid it, please let me know.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jdop
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 Mar 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback. Thought it was something corrupted on my side.

Try it on a fresh profile. As I said, I do not see the issue there.

If you're mystified, what shot do the rest of us have Wink

What conditions trigger a refresh like that? Windows obviously thinks something has changed and the icons need to be reloaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7778
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might help to delete Windows icon cache.

So you have to delete the hidden file IconCache.db in the your Local Appdata directory. Thereafter kill the Explorer process and restart Explorer (or log in and out).

Here is a button for the buttonbar that does it all:
Code:
TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMSPEC% /C
(del /AH "%%LOCALAPPDATA%%\IconCache.db") && (taskkill /im explorer.exe /f) && (%%WINDIR%%\explorer.exe)
%COMMANDER_EXE%,2
Delete Icon Cache and Restart Explorer

1
-1

Quote:
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (including TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA in the first line and -1 in the last line).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".

_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jdop
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 Mar 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said in the original post, I did all that with the icon cache.

Something is triggering the refresh. I'd think someone who knows the innards of Windows well , could trace the flow and see what it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35725
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have checked it in the debugger now: It only happens when overlay icons are enabled.

The calls to:
IShellIconOverlay::GetOverlayIconIndex(childidlist,nOverlay)
or
IShellIconOverlay::GetOverlayIndex(childidlist,nOverlay)

cause this flickering when they are called for the first time. So far no workaround. Sad
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com


Last edited by ghisler(Author) on Mon May 14, 2018 3:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jdop
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 Mar 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually have that overlay icon switch disabled, and still see the problem

Must be some other issue . Every time TC is opened or if already open , the TC icon is reclicked, the desktop icons refresh.

Not thinking its TC only, as I see this issue with a few other apps. Loading a video in MPC player, same issue.

Maybe one of the recent Windows updates caused a problem. Very hard to track this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albermon
New Member
New Member


Joined: 12 May 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it seems that it is a general incidence ... (I can't upload URL, but you can found more detail googling : "413776-all-desktop-icons-refresh-when-starting-some-programs")

... the opera guys have already fixed it : "Just upgraded from .64 to .99 and still working OK from icon on taskbar. No flickering." (I can't upload URL, but you can found more detail googling : "desktop-icons-flickering-when-loading-opera")

Can you make a fix for TC ?
it is very annoying (and slow) to see how all the desktop icons are refreshed before starting the TC ..
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35725
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I could not find any instructions on how to fix it.

Here it doesn't occur when I disable overlay icons. When I run my code in the debbuger (step by step), the desktop refresh occurs exactly when calling one of these overlay functions for the first time.

Maybe it is also triggered by some other icon functions in your case.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7778
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here it happens no matter whether Ovelay icons are disable or not - It also happens with a blank ini-file.

I have tried disabeling buttonbars (both), Icons in menus and icons in file panels, but to no avail. And I tried deleting the .manifest file.

It is nothing new - it also affects TC 8.52a

On my Windows 10 PC, which is pretty slow, I can see that the flickering occurs AFTER TC's UI is fully loaded. On my fast Windows 7 PC it is the opposite - first flickering, then TC appears on the screen.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
polle452
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Win10Pro 1804, TC9.20B2 both w. 32bit and 64bit:

-diabling OverLay Icon = no refresh

-enablingOverLay Icon = refresh

In both cases starting a 2.nd instance of TC (or 32bit + 64bit)
the refresh consistently follows the above behavior for the second TC as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7778
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
-diabling OverLay Icon = no refresh


I didn't test disabeling the overlay setting under Windows 10 - Testet again - I see the same as you under Windows 10 but still NOT under Windows 7 (flickering also with overlay icons disabled).

Under Windows 8.1 I see NO refresh at all, overlay icons enabled or not.

I now also testet on a slow Windows 7 PC - here the flickering is still before TC turns up on the screen, so the difference in when the flickering occour (after TC turns up under Windows 10), is probably not related to PC speed.

Under WIndow XP I see no flickering. My windows XP is on the same PC as a Windows 7, under which I do see flickering - so it is not a hardware problem - but could be a driver problem.

On my other Windows 7 PC I have two screens connected to two different display cards - I see flickering on both screens,

It is not all icons that flicker. The generic icons for Computer, Network,ControlPanel and Recycle bin, does not flicker. I also have a lot of .URL files on my desktop showing the same icon of my default Browser (not IE) - only a few of them flickers. Icons for Folders on the Desktop does not flicker, unless they have a customized icon from using desktop.ini. Icons for all .lnk files flicker and so do icons for .exe files placed directly on the Desktop.

A last thing - If I run TC as administrator (you might temporarily disable UAC to see it) - there i NO flickering.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
polle452
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC 8.50 with XP and Win7, no refresh regardless of the Overlay setting.
Tested on 2 identical Laptops (old P2), XP on the one and Win7 on the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35725
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried TC 8.50 on Windows 10, and I get the same desktop icon flickering when overlay icons are enabled.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group