Configuration setting

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

YanaymisCV

Configuration setting

Post by *YanaymisCV »

Hello everyone. I am new in this, and this is the first time that something like this happens to me.
I do not know why each time I open TC 9.1 in other PCs from my USB, I have to set up the configuration because TC loses the previous configuration. This never happened to me with previous TCs.
Now the configuration is always in
C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\GHISLER

How can I make a dinamic configuration so that I can open TC from my USB without losing the configuration like before in previous TCs.
Thanks and have a nice day everyone.
:oops:
siealex

Post by *siealex »

We are not so S.M.A.R.T. as we imagine...
YanaymisCV

Post by *YanaymisCV »

Is there any possibility programmers fix TC in a way that the new one TC 9.1 be able to read the ini file dynamically like previous versions?
I think that if previous versions like 8.2 did it so good, why is it impossible for a newer to do it.
For all of you that are programmers is ok, but I know nothing about it.
Clients are not programmers.
Please could you help me to fix this problem
umbra
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *umbra »

2YanaymisCV
I don't believe there has been any change to TC's behavior.

Do I understand it correctly, that you have wincmd.ini in your portable TC directory and that it contains setting "UseIniInProgramDir="? If yes, have you modified the file recently with Notepad or other text editor? The file could get corrupted and that may cause TC to ignore it. The "fix" would be in repairing the configuration file or creating a new one from scratch.

But if you don't understand how TC works, it may be easier to follow the link provided by siealex and create a new portable copy of TC.

umbra
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64
YanaymisCV

Post by *YanaymisCV »

thank a lot all of you are very kind.