Suggestion: remember directory size

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Suggestion: remember directory size

Post by *kluvi » 2018-05-15, 10:14 UTC

Hi Christian.
I use TC to make room on disks. I use DirSizeCalc to calculate directory size etc on background, but it can be used also by regular way.
Calculation tooks long time. But when i enter to some subdir to check or delete something in it...and return back to previous level, all dirs are to be recalculated again.
It is correct behavior to do it this way, but it is very inconvenient. And worst situation is on Android, because you have only 2 panels.

Usually i do cleaning this way:
I switch to DirSizeCalc layout and show root directory.
I choose some huge direcory and go to drill inside. Then i go back and try to find another huge dir. But now i have to wait from begin to see what should be next.

I would appreciate using some kind of CACHED information. For first moment i can imagine to use previous value marked as outdated (but still with some useful information). For instance different color.
When background (or normal) process recalculates actual size, color can be changed to normal state.
That means TC should remeber all values from columns displayed for all visited (sub)dirs. It can be memory consuming, but i think that will be not such big problem. And we can find eventually some method how to reduce it (store only time consuming values, or only for limited time or after switching value cache in UI)

Thank You in advance.
Martin

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2018-05-15, 10:32 UTC

I think "Everything" could help you here:

Everything
Menu "Tools" - "Options..." - "Indexes" - tick: "Index file size" and tick: "Index folder size"

TC
Menu "Configuration" - "Options..." - "Operation": Calculate space occupied by subdirectories - 'Everything' ticked, etc.
See: Menu "Help" - "Keyboard": ALT+SHIFT+ENTER ... The contents of all directories in the current directory are counted. ...

User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Post by *kluvi » 2018-05-15, 10:52 UTC

Huh.
Nice tool. Never heard.
But maybe too complicated.
And not solving my problem on Android.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10964
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2018-05-15, 21:09 UTC

kluvi,
Sounds like WizTree is exactly what you need.
Also WinDirStat might be of interest, although it's slower.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Post by *kluvi » 2018-05-16, 11:28 UTC

Great apps, but only for WIN, i need it also for Android. I can try to find something simillar for it, but it can be good tip for Christian to enhance TC .

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36277
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-17, 09:49 UTC

On Android, you can get the directory sizes on demand with a custom button at the bottom.
Function type: Internal command
Command: Click on >> and pick nr 115.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Post by *kluvi » 2018-05-23, 20:17 UTC

Yes, but i must press it (and wait for recalculation ) everytime i change directory and return back again (drill)

Post Reply