Listers don't work with *.ts files

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14692
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *petermad »

After:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
Just add:

Code: Select all

0_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
Then it works for me.

EDIT
I now also testet cudalister with 32bit TC an here I don't need to add the 0_detect="MULTIMEDIA" line to make TC open .ts files - so there is a difference between the 32bit and the 64bit version of TC in this respect.

The same seemes to be the case with syn2 - I don't need a X_detect="MULTIMEDIA" line for the 32 bit version but I do in the 64bit version. to make it open .ts files when pressing F3.

Notice that a detect line like X_detect="EXT="TS"" does not work either for CudaLister and syn2 in the 64bit version.
Last edited by petermad on 2019-05-01, 11:45 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark »

I can confirm the problem on Windows 7 32-bit (test cases same as on Vista, with additional one where 0_detect="EXT="TS"" defined for CudaLister, and which works as expected on Vista 32-bit but not on Win7 32-bit)

It's strange that telling TC to use CudaLister via command line makes it use CudaLister for *.ts files on Win7, the button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%commander_exe% /I=%commander_path%\_CudaLister.ini /O /S=L:T4PCudaLister
"%P%N"
%commander_exe%,24



-1
where %commander_path%\_CudaLister.ini is a wincmd.ini file where CudaLister is installed.
The /I=<ini_path> parameter must be set if parent TC process started with /I=<ini_path> parameter where <ini_path> is different from normal wincmd.ini location (main ini), and in main ini CudaLister plugin is not installed (it seems for some reason %commander_exe% started with /O parameter doesn't re-use ini file of parent totalcmd.exe process if that process ini set by /I parameter)
petermad wrote: 2019-05-01, 09:52 UTC After:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
Just add:

Code: Select all

0_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
Then it works for me.
It is not good workaround for a case where user wants to use a plugin only for *.ts files (0_detect="EXT="TS""). Above workaround with totalcmd.exe started with command line parameter telling to use CudaLister is better (it's possible to use it not only in a button, but also as an Alternative viewer (Alt+F3) or Internal association by replacing "%P%N" with "%1")
Last edited by DrShark on 2019-05-01, 12:02 UTC, edited 3 times in total.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14692
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *petermad »

It is not good workaround for a case where user wants to use a plugin only for *.ts files (0_detect="EXT="TS")
In that case just use:

Code: Select all

0_detect="MULTIMEDIA & EXT="TS""
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6421
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp »

petermad wrote: 2019-05-01, 09:52 UTC After:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
Just add:

Code: Select all

0_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
Then it works for me.

EDIT
I now also testet cudalister with 32bit TC an here I don't need to add the 0_detect="MULTIMEDIA" line to make TC open .ts files - so there is a difference between the 32bit and the 64bit version of TC in this respect.

The same seemes to be the case with syn2 - I don't need a X_detect="MULTIMEDIA" line for the 32 bit version but I do in the 64bit version. to make it open .ts files when pressing F3.

Notice that a detect line like X_detect="EXT="TS"" does not work either for CudaLister and syn2 in the 64bit version.
Thanks petermad, the 0_detect="MULTIMEDIA" is the solution.
It works in my combined x86/x64 TC installation and uses the TypeScript display of the actual CudaLister.
For me the problem was in both TC versions, not only in the x64 version (tested with fresh ini files).
But now all is fine :D
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
TC 11.03 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.2, Listary Pro 6.3.0.67
QAP 11.6.3.2 x64
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Usher »

2Horst.Epp
I suspect that in your Windows *.ts is registered systemwide as a multimedia file. It might be done by some multimedia player/viewer/manager (f.e. ACDSee) which added shell extension (and its class) or registered some multimedia classes and codecs and associated ts with them. Whatever it was it has higher priority than legacy association with file extension and it probably may register ts systemwide as available for legacy MCI subsystem.

That way TC now probably always tries to play *.ts as registered multimedia type. See how it works with some picture (jpg, gif, png) when you change its extension to avi: with default settings TC tries to play the file with MCI (like wav etc.) and when it fails, the file is passed back to display in binary view with Lister. In such cases the file is NEVER passed to further analysis in Lister, f.e to pass it to Lister plugin - so it's not a bug, it's a missing feature.

You can do one more test: Turn off "Multimedia" check in Lister configuration and see how it works without multimedia autodetection.
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Polish subforum moderator
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark »

Usher wrote: 2019-05-01, 13:31 UTCone more test: Turn off "Multimedia" check in Lister configuration and see how it works without multimedia autodetection.
I tried that on Windows 7 32-bit where TC fails to load CudaLister for *.ts, and TC still opens the file as text. Pressing 4 (force plugin/multimedia) makes Lister to show MCI player control briefly and then Lister loads the file as a text.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6421
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Usher wrote: 2019-05-01, 13:31 UTC 2Horst.Epp
...
- so it's not a bug, it's a missing feature.
...
I agree that it is a missing feature.
I would like to have more control over Lister and its plugins.
I have installed the freeware version of Universal Viewer for Alt-F3 and added the same plugins to it.
There are no such problems with .ts and CudaLister.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
TC 11.03 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.2, Listary Pro 6.3.0.67
QAP 11.6.3.2 x64
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Usher »

DrShark wrote: 2019-05-01, 14:49 UTCI tried that on Windows 7 32-bit where TC fails to load CudaLister for *.ts, and TC still opens the file as text. Pressing 4 (force plugin/multimedia) makes Lister to show MCI player control briefly and then Lister loads the file as a text.
So ts on that system is definitely registered as multimedia type. Can you check what multimedia players/viewers are installed there? Or maybe you can right click ts file in Windows Explorer to see what multimedia shell extensions are in the context menu and what programs are present in "Open with…" submenu?
Some programs are really annoying. Did I mention ACDSee?
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Polish subforum moderator
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14692
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *petermad »

FYI - .ts is registered as "MPEG-2 TS-video" and assigned to Windows Media Player on my system - an still I can open .ts files in CudaLister as long as I set a X_detect="MULTIMEDIA" line for CudaLister in wincmd.ini
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark »

Usher wrote: 2019-05-01, 19:58 UTCSo ts on that system is definitely registered as multimedia type. Can you check what multimedia players/viewers are installed there?
For me *.ts registered on Win7 the same as on petermad's. But I don't think there's much sense of looking into this direction before Christian Ghisler will tell whether he can reproduce it and what actually happens.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6421
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp »

DrShark wrote: 2019-05-02, 00:27 UTC
Usher wrote: 2019-05-01, 19:58 UTCSo ts on that system is definitely registered as multimedia type. Can you check what multimedia players/viewers are installed there?
For me *.ts registered on Win7 the same as on petermad's. But I don't think there's much sense of looking into this direction before Christian Ghisler will tell whether he can reproduce it and what actually happens.
For me its video/vnd.dlna.mpeg-tts
So lets wait for any info from Christian.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
TC 11.03 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.2, Listary Pro 6.3.0.67
QAP 11.6.3.2 x64
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark »

Here on Vista 32-bit I can reproduce the problem with Imagine plugin and PNG files
If plugin is installed like this:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0="<path>\Imagine.wlx"
0_detect="EXT="PNG""
Lister is using internal picture viewer.
But if to change detect string to MULTIMEDIA:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0="<path>\Imagine.wlx"
0_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
Lister will use Imagine.

So there are 2 problems here:
* currently it's not possible to change this behavior (where Lister completely don't load plugins, so even no switch to plugin by '4' key, for file types from "multimedia group" unless for such plugins "MULTIMEDIA" is used in their detect strings).
* what file types in that "multimedia group" depends on OS, and TC doesn't inform user (and maybe Lister plugins too) in any way about that file types list on particular TC installation.

My suggestions:
* let Lister allow to use plugins without "MULTIMEDIA" detect string set for file types from "multimedia group" after pressing '4' key.
* TC/Lister should somehow inform user, and maybe Lister plugins too so they could adapt their default detect strings on first start, what file extensions it considers as multimedia.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48000
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

That's what the FORCE key is for - MULTIMEDIA is only true for multimedia files, and FORCE is only true when you press '4'.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2020-01-17, 15:14 UTC That's what the FORCE key is for - MULTIMEDIA is only true for multimedia files, and FORCE is only true when you press '4'.
The problem is, when Lister encounters file with extension it recognizes as multimedia, it uses view methods in following order:
1) uses plugins with "MULTIMEDIA" detect string;
2) uses internal multimedia viewer;
3) if internal viewer loading fails for some reason (see start post with *.ts extension), Lister opens file in text mode.

Lister NEVER tries to use for multimedia files plugins without defined detect string or with detect string defined as EXT="" or FORCE & EXT="".
It would be more expected for Lister to try to use such plugins after above methods 1 and 2 or if they will fail, and before switching to text view.

Also Lister or TC doesn't show full list of extensions Lister recognizes as multimedia on particular system, so if Lister doesn't use some plugin for some file type, for user it's a guess game to find out whether it's a buggy plugin or it doesn't show that files because of missing "MULTIMEDIA" detect string.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48000
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

It doesn't because multimedia file tend to be HUGE, and passing them to a plugin which doesn't declare that it supports them could take a LOT of time. For example, when you pass a 2 GB video to a text plugin, it can block the viewer for several minutes.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply