Font sizes in Lister are too large

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Nop
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2006-06-28, 11:01 UTC

Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *Nop »

I am trying to adjust the font size in the lister window in TC9.50. It does not use the size I select but substitutes a size several points larger.
For ANSI view, I want the font Lucida Console, but setting the size behaves strangely:
- Select size 9 in the font dialog => Lister options show "Lucida Console - 12", size in lister view is about 12
- Select size 12 in the font dialog => Lister options show "Lucida Console - 16", size in lister view is about 16

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This isn't a bug. Font size 9 means 9 virtual points. One point is defined as about 1/72 of an inch. The negative number displayed in the lister options is the font size in screen pixels. The higher the screen resolution, the higher this value. For example, on a 96dpi screen (100% scale in Windows), a font point suze of 9 gives a pixel height of 12 (9x96/72).
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Nop
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2006-06-28, 11:01 UTC

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *Nop »

I am having a hard time understanding this as a feature.
- In the font selection dialog I select a point size and there is also a sample preview. Naturally, I would expect that the font size in the lister is the same as shown in the preview.
- The behaviour is inconsistent. When i select 9pts in the font dialog, it is scaled up to 12pts. But when I open the font dialog again, 12pts is selected there, which will be upscaled to 16pts. The font size becomes larger every time I open the font dialog. If the scaling is intended as you describe it, I would expect the point size to be downscaled back to virtual points before it is used in the font dialog (back to the 9pts I originally selected in my example)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I cannot reproduce that, sorry. They are 12 pixels high, not 12 points.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9488
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *petermad »

2Nop
The font size becomes larger every time I open the font dialog
I cannot confirm this.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3632
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Nop wrote:
2020-03-25, 15:33 UTC
...
The font size becomes larger every time I open the font dialog.
...
Can not confirm.
The configured fonts and sizes stay for me, regardless of how many times I open the dialog.
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.752)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.972 (x64)

Nop
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2006-06-28, 11:01 UTC

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *Nop »

As a picture says more than a 1000 words, here's what I see (windows 10, Text size 100%, resolution 2560x1440
Image: https://i.postimg.cc/J4psDFD0/grafik.png

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9488
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *petermad »

A video also says more tahna a 1000 words: https://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/listerfont.mp4 - no problem

Testet with TC 9.51 x64 under Windows 10 Home 1909, system text size 100%

2Nop
Could you try and test it with a clean ini file - maybe your wincmd.ini file is corrupted.
Last edited by petermad on 2020-03-27, 10:54 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Maybe it's a problem with multiple screens with different DPI? Or you changed screen resolution without restarting Windows afterwards?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Nop
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2006-06-28, 11:01 UTC

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *Nop »

That is possible, I have two monitors with 2500 and 1900 resolution. The machine starts up on the laptop screen and switches to the monitors during windows startup. There are two visible changes of resolutions during startup. There are no manual screen changes later.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes in Lister are too large

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I see - what scaling factors do the two screens use, e.g. one 100% and one 150%? You can see this in the display settings (right click on the desktop).
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply