Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

Hello and good day,

I have a problem I have spent quite some time on instead of working.
The answer is probably obvious and I will likely bang my head against the wall afterwards.

I can't access the root file partition on my Synology through TC and it doesn't show up in
Network Neighborhood when opening it.

I have tried any possible syntax in Network Connections I could think of.
Though accessing the underlying folders works in TC, for example, \\DiskStation\Music

I tried using different credentials one as user and one as NAS admin, also nope.

It works in Windows 7 although I remember having problems there to in the beginning but I can't remember how I fixed it. I even booted up Win 7 again to see if I could find out what I did to fix it but the settings where the same.

I can access the root file system through Windows file explorer with \\DiskStation

I have the same problem with PowerShell, cd \\diskstation = nope, cd \\diskstation\Music = yes.

Even ran TC as admin although I did not think that was the problem as it works in File Explorer.


Does anybody have an idea what I'm forgetting?

Bert

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Does it work when you use d \\diskstation\Music first, and then go up one level?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

Thank you,
I tried doing your suggestion but there isn't even an option to go a level higher or to go to another directory on my NAS.
I have to connect to each directory on my NAS separately.
This I see when the directory Music is mounted to Z [ z:\ ]
A sub in the Music directory shows as [ z:\POP\ ]

What makes me baffled is that it works in Win 7 but not in Win 10, and I'm scratching my head at what I'm missing.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Ah, you want to mount is as a drive! You cannot mount the list of shares as a drive, just the shares themselves.

Instead, try opening the path directly, e.g. via the command line in Total Commander, or via a button. The command is
cd \\DiskStation\Music
THEN try going one level up via [..] directory.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

The mounting as a drive is a workaround to at least access the shares in TC, I didn't have to do this in Win 7, there TC listed all folders and could navigate back and forth.
But this was a slap to the head moment I talked about , of course I can't access the root and all folders this way, stupid me... I can only mount them separately.
I will try this tomorrow as I'm working with Linux at the moment.
Thanks for helping me.

BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

Ah, cd \\DiskStation\Music then going one level up via [..] directory trough the command line worked.
Still no idea why this way work's and the "old" way does not.
But I can definitely work with this as I can now again navigate to all shares on my NAS within TC without first mounting them separately.

Thank you very much for your help !

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

What about
cd \\DiskStation
directly, does this work too?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

I forgot to try that but that worked also.

So I can't access my NAS through Network Neighborhood the way I could on Win 7 but going through the command line works.
I can then do everything I could do in Win 7 but my NAS still does not show in Network neighborhood after accessing it through the command line.

I can work with this so I'm perfectly happy to consider it solved but I'm more then willing to continue if you want to see if it is a bug.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Just put the command on a button or start menu entry (TC's start menu, not Explorer's), or add it to the Ctrl+D directory hotlist.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

BertD
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2020-06-30, 12:01 UTC

Re: Cant't access root filesystem on Synology Nas with TC

Post by *BertD »

Thanks, that's a good option, just as quick as the old way.
Thank you for your support.

Post Reply