LAN / SMB Plugin no longer connects

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

svg1234

LAN / SMB Plugin no longer connects

Post by *svg1234 »

I've been using TC on various android phones for many years. Never had a problem connecting to my PC over the network w/ the plugin.
I recently changed ISPs to OXIO and have to use their EERO router, which only has two ethernet ports.
Thus, I added a 4-port switch in order to have more physical ethernet ports. So I now have a switch/router/modem setup. It's pretty straightforward. Everything on the network is working perfectly fine.
However, I can no longer connect from my phone to my PC using TC.

Error message: "SMB2 Connect....java.util.connection.concurrent.ExecutionException...com.b.k.b.d...javaIO.IOException...unknown packet format."

I've tried enabling and disabling the various SMB settings in TC and in samba. (Running arch linux on the PC).
I've tried deleting and adding a new ///LAN entry.
I use the IP address of my PC directly rather than using the hostname ("ARCH"), but I've tried both and neither works.

I guess it's either the addition of a switch or something to do with the EERO router. (Oddly, the EERO's internal IP addresses off the DHCP server are set to 192.168.4.x).

Is there any solution or workaround for this?
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: LAN / SMB Plugin no longer connects

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I have checked the smbj source code for this error "unknown packet format". It seems to happen when the library receives a data packet with unknown/unusable content. Somehow the data gets corrupted. Could you try a different port on the switch for the connection to the router and/or PC? Or may be a different cable?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
svg1234

Post by *svg1234 »