Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
Digika
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 2019-05-26, 14:46 UTC

Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

Post by *Digika »

What are the architecture challenges of TC codebase that prevent this being a reality? Right now, if Lister doing some work whole TC has to wait, presumably because its functionality runs on the same thread. Is there any reason Lister can't be offloaded to a separate one?
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6450
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Never had to wait for Lister in the rest of TC.
If needed you can use a separate thread by calling TC lister from the command line.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3374)
TC 11.03 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.2, Listary Pro 6.3.0.69
QAP 11.6.3.2 x64
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14741
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

Post by *petermad »

2Digika
You could make an em_command like this in your usercmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

[em_separatelister]
cmd=%COMMANDER_EXE% /i="%COMMANDER_INI%" /S=L
param=%P%N
And then put this code in the [Shortcuts] section of your wincmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

F3=em_separatelister
Then Lister will open in a separate instance when you press F3 on a file.

Notice that you can then no longer mark multiple files and open them in Lister and cycle between the selected files by pressing N or P or Alt+RightArrow or Alt+LeftArrow.

To work around that, you can change the option in "Configuration" -> "Options..." -> "Edit/View" -> "Viewer for F3" to: "Internal Viewer with file under cursor". Then you can use Shift+F3 to view multiple selected files - but not opened in a separat instance of Lister.

You cannot view files inside archives with F3, but here you can use Shift+F3 - but again not opened in a separat instance of Lister
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Digika
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 2019-05-26, 14:46 UTC

Re: Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

Post by *Digika »

This will essentially launch a new instance of TC in lister mode which is pretty bad workaround all around to be frank. Not being able to cycle between opened Lister windows is least of the issues.
Image: https://i.imgur.com/Fv8KKWb.png
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14741
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Lister (w/ plugins) on their own thread?

Post by *petermad »

It is not different from running for example TC's "Find Files" in a separate instance using Alt+Shift+F7 or cm_SearchStandalone.

Maybe Lister is not run in a separate thread, because plugins can not be known to be thread safe.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply