Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Currently, I select one (or many) file(s) and press the "Multi Rename Tool" button. This fires up the MRT page showing old and new names and "Please press start" etc. This allows me to play around with the filenames etc etc. Well and good but what if I don't want to play around with the files names? What if, all I want to do is change all the filenames to lowercase as set in my "Uppercase/lowercase" setup? I still have to press the "Start" button and then the "Close" button....
Can I (and how do I) setup a button (or preferably a hotkey) that fires up the Multi Rename Tool, does the job and exits without any pressing of further buttons?
You know.... Select one (or more) files.... Press ctrl/R.... It does the renames as set..... And exits....

Thanks in anticipation.... :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4133
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s)

Post by *Stefan2 »

HISTORY.TXT
12.04.22 Release Total Commander 10.50 beta 1
28.02.22 Added: command MULTIRENAME==<settings> with two equal signs now starts renaming immediately and closes the dialog if successful (32/64)
28.02.22 Added: command MULTIRENAME=<settings> now starts renaming immediately with given saved settings, unless the settings cannot be loaded (32/64)





 
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Created a command button and put in command cm_MULTIRENAME but it came up "not found"....
Probably need more information on how to create a hotkey and a button than your response.... :(

Thanks :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9364
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *Dalai »

MULTIRENAME, not cm_MULTIRENAME.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4133
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *Stefan2 »

louwin wrote: 2022-07-22, 14:52 UTC
Probably need more information on how to create a hotkey and a button than your response.... :(

Then follow my signature if any questions on creating button.

But Dalai already gave the most important hint to you :wink:



Command: MULTIRENAME==mySavedSetting
Parameter:
Icon: wcmicons.dll
Tooltip: load MRT with my setting



 
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *petermad »

2louwin
Stefan2 wrote:Command: MULTIRENAME==mySavedSetting
Parameter:
Icon: wcmicons.dll
Tooltip: load MRT with my setting
And then you have to save your settings in the MultiRename dialog by pressing F2 and name it: mySavedSetting

If you want to be able to remap a hotkey to the command, you can put this in your usercmd.ini file (located where your wincmd.ini file is):

Code: Select all

[em_automultirename]
cmd=MULTIRENAME==mySavedSetting
You can then use Configuration -> Options -> Misc. -> Redifine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping) -> Command: em_automultirename

You can also use em_automultirename as the Command in a button.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Thanks petermad for your beautifully explained answer even an old fart like me could understand. Sorry for the late acknowledgement but I was up to my ears in grandkids. Thanks again :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Sorry, Thanks EVERYONE for your answers :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Sorry again petermad.... When I try to setup the hotkey and put in the filter em_auto nothing comes up.... sorry to say

There don't appear to be ANY em_ commands.... Version of TC 10.50
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4133
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *Stefan2 »

louwin wrote: 2022-07-29, 11:34 UTC When I try to setup the hotkey and put in the filter em_auto nothing comes up....
What have you done right now? Step-by-step: how and where...

Do you have a text file usercmd.ini in your TC-folder near the wincmd.ini?
Is that the wincmd.ini in use? (see help menu >> About)




See there for more info
MRT + Save/Load/Execute: viewtopic.php?p=347067#p347067
UserDefinedCommands usercmd.ini: viewtopic.php?p=344777#p344777


.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *petermad »

2louwin
Do you see the usercmd.ini entry, like in this screenshot: https://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/usercmdini.png ? - If does not have any items, then click on the "New" button and usercmd.ini will be made for you.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

Yes, I didn't have a usercmd.ini file so I created one and copied your two lines into it and saved it. Everything I did I did with "copy & paste" so no transcription errors :)
I'm trying to remap the hotkey ctrl/R (for rename) but when I click on options misc ctrl and usercmd.ini (even though I HAVE created it) no commands show - shows "Default command (no remapping)"
Contents of my usercmd.ini file.... (about 10 entries above the wincmd.ini file in the TC display of the TC folder)
*****
[em_automultirename]
cmd=MULTIRENAME==mySavedSetting
******
Then (in desperation) I started playing with the dialog and Add/New? a command.... Used the first line (em_autu....) for the command and the second line (cmd=MULTI....) as ???? and ctrl/R came up "file not found" cmd=MULTIRENAME==mySavedSetting.... I deleted what I played with and now can't repeat what I did before.... Like I said --- desperation :(

I would like a hotkey but you have helped me immensely and I can live with a perfectly functional button and no hotkey :)

Thanks for your superb help, above and beyond :) :) :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

YAY!!!!!

I continued playing and removed "cmd=" from the second line after "New" and added "<......>" and IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!

THANKS SO MUCH..... :) :) :) :D :D



I SO ENVY YOUR setup from your snapshot.... You must be able to make your TC prepare your breakfast in the mornings :D :D :D
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *petermad »

2louwin
I SO ENVY YOUR setup from your snapshot.... You must be able to make your TC prepare your breakfast in the mornings
If you are talking about the Menu, you can have it too - se my signature hre below:
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
louwin
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Create a hotkey to do (multi) rename(s) and exits after done

Post by *louwin »

That looks unbelievable but a bit more than I can handle at the moment :)

I have another question but don't know if I should start another post? As you see, I like instant commands :)

Is there anyway to select one (or more) file(s) in a panel and press F5 (or F6 for Move) and do the Copy (or Move) immediately? (to the other panel without the confirmation prompt?). It can be with another function key or better still redefine F5 and F6 to do the Copy or Move without the confirmation dialog?

Again, Thanks in anticipation :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Post Reply