Why does 7zip support still totally suck?

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

CRC

Why does 7zip support still totally suck?

Post by *CRC »

So I've been teetering on the edge of buying totalcmd for many years, and hitting the stupid trial button - but never done it because of one thing....

Support for 7zip archives just really sucks.

Total Commander is really good in many, many other ways, but the fact that with the available plugins, we're either stuck on 2 threads to do compression, or with the Total7Zip plugin, it malfunctions in so many ways that I end up quitting totalcmd again and again and just using the free 7-Zip application.

For example, if I'm backing up my Steam games, I'll create a .7z archive with the appmanifest file in it, move it to my network drive, open it up, create the common folder in the 7z archive, then copy the common\game_name folder across to the archive.

Using wcx_7zip, it works fine, but its limited to 2 threads - which means the additional 30 threads in my CPU go unused.

Using Total7Zip, it starts copying the entire folder to %TEMP% - before it starts doing anything (WHY!?!?!), and will then eventually start compressing... That's after duplicating the entire game on disk - which can be multiple hundreds of gigabytes.

It's 2022 - why does this still have to be sooooo bad?
norfie²
Power Member
Power Member

Re: Why does 7zip support still totally suck?

Post by *norfie² »

It's probably 7zip's fault if several developers independently fail to make it. :mrgreen:
"War is evil, in so far as it makes more bad people than it takes away."
Immanuel Kant in "Perpetual Peace"
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *Dalai »

2CRC