This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Non-modal search window
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Non-modal search window
Yes
90%
 90%  [ 124 ]
No
9%
 9%  [ 13 ]
Total Votes : 137

Author Message
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 1847
Location: Brandenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Sometimes searches take up to 2 hours (especially on network drives) and I cannot use TC that time...

Open another instance of TC Exclamation

I rarely use TCs search because I usually know where my files are. (And I use locate in some other cases)
But I also support this approach too.
_________________
QuickSearch eXtended | ButtonBar eXtended | www.familie-plentz.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TCFan404
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I TOTALLY support this Very Happy I wrote something about this a while ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Unfortunately this would require a major redesign of all the various unpacking functions. One alternative would be to start the search in a separate program instance (launch a hidden TC with just the search window), but then "feed to listbox" would no longer be possible.


Sorry to dig this thread out, among all the other Modal/Non-Modal search discussion.

I just found out the possibility to Sync non-modal by doing this

TC Help wrote:
/S=S Start "Synchronize dirs" directly, accepts two paths as parameters, or alternatively a settings name in the form /S=S:SettingsName
If the parameter begins with an equal sign "=", e.g. /S=S:=SettingsName, the comparison will start immediately. If the equal sign is the only parameter, e.g. /S=S:= , the comparison will start with the passed directories and last used options.


Can the search option not be implemented similar...
I know this wont work if you want to click the file to open the corresponding folder in TC and the feed to list box as well as you said.

But sometimes i just search for a file and its enough for me to know where it is.

If it is no big effort for you, can this be implemented?

thanks anyway Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35761
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While standalone sync or lister are useful, a standalone search dialog would be quite pointless. Just open a second copy of TC if you need to perform such a long search.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3140
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
While standalone sync or lister are useful, a standalone search dialog would be quite pointless. Just open a second copy of TC if you need to perform such a long search.

I strongly disagree. First, starting another copy of TC is simply not enough. You need to reopen the same directory, reselect the same files/subdirs, reenter (or select from history) the same file mask, also (if you search by text contents) you'll have not only to check the checkbox but also get the search text from the history combobox. All this makes using the new TC instance very unpleasant.

And, second, it's really very frequent situation that I started a long search, but suddenly remembered I needed to do something else while search is going. Now I would have to either stop the search, reopen another TC instance and restart search there (and do all the steps mentioned above), or I should leave the first TC searching and open another TC instance to do what I needed… just to suddenly remember that I have to do it in a different directory which was opened in the first TC but not yet saved in wincmd.ini, so it's not present in the second TC. I'll have to reopen it, switch to the sorting mode I need, select the custom coulmns I need, and so on, and so forth. All this is extremely unefficient way of spending time.

Non-modal search dialog would be a great advantage.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JohnFredC
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 886
Location: Sarasota Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps a "clone this TC instance" option on the Search function would be a useful enhancement.
_________________
Licensed, Mouse-Centric, moving (slowly) toward Touch-centric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 1847
Location: Brandenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also disagree. A standalone or non modal search dialog would be very useful.
_________________
QuickSearch eXtended | ButtonBar eXtended | www.familie-plentz.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10893
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I concur. A standalone search dialog would be very useful.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.


Last edited by Hacker on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35761
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what would you do with the search results? Stare at them and think "Eeureka"?

You can't
- go to the file
- feed result to a listbox
- copy/move/delete whatever the file
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10893
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
Well, we assume there would be some communication between the processes to enable the usual functionality after the search. We could already go to a file using the existing command line parameters. The only thing remaining would be the feed to listbox, for which TC would have to accept a command line parameter to say load a list of files from a list file.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3140
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author)
In addition to what Hacker said, we can also press F3 on a file to view it, and in many cases nothing more is needed. But I don't believe you think that all functions you just named are absolutely impossible to implement.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vizi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a no brainer - every window should be able to work in background and not interfere with file browsing. This includes searches but also unpacking/packing operations (at least in queue if not possible to do at the same time.)
How easy or hard to program it in TC is entirely different matter. But that should be done, is no question. The sooner it is done, the better for TC and his author.

Performing operations one by one is very much obsolete. Today's file managers (even free ones) have this possibility.

I am finding myself using other file manager every time I need to perform search function which says enough about this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vladputin
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not make it simple:

Idea How about making the dialog non-modal (via a button a la 'Background') and returning the same dialog whenever user tries to search again before the previous dialog is closed?

This avoids the issues of plugin thread safety and any inter-process communication too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10893
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vladputin,
Quote:
This avoids the issues of plugin thread safety

Not really, since you can do more with packers / plugins than search.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vladputin
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hacker wrote:
vladputin
Quote:
This avoids the issues of plugin thread safety

Not really, since you can do more with packers / plugins than search.

Roman


Correct. Well, then the archive and plugin search must be turned off anyway.

Not so cool, but at least it shouldn't be too hard to implement and you avoid having to open a new instance and having to navigate the the search location whenever you don't want to search with plugins (95% of the time in my case)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group