External Editor Problem

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
pangi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-01-25, 17:37 UTC

External Editor Problem

Post by *pangi »

I have a problem with external editor - when i press F4 on any file, TC
display error - File not found.
Path to editor in options is OK (I tried several editors)
Also tried delete INI, default settings is ok (notepad open files), but if i want use external editor TC display same error.
TC ver. 6.53

Can help ?
User avatar
frenky
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 250
Joined: 2005-07-30, 19:36 UTC

Post by *frenky »

Can you copy a path from Editor field to Windows run dialog and execute it from there?
e.g.
c:\WINDOWS\notepad.exe
Ambiguity succeeds where honesty dares not venture.
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13073
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

pangi,
Path to editor in options is OK (I tried several editors)
Try defining it as one of these:

Code: Select all

c:\path\to\editor.exe %1
c:\path\to\editor.exe "%1"
HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: External Editor Problem

Post by *Sheepdog »

pangi wrote:I have a problem with external editor - when i press F4 on any file, TC
display error - File not found.
Path to editor in options is OK (I tried several editors)
Also tried delete INI, default settings is ok (notepad open files), but if i want use external editor TC display same error.
TC ver. 6.53

Can help ?
In somer special cases Windows removes the quotation marks from the path to the editor. Pleas open your wincmd.ini (location you can determine by [alt]+[h]elp, then [a]bout ), search for the key:

Code: Select all

editor="File\Location\of\your\editor.exe"
and place a second pair of quotationmarks around it:

Code: Select all

editor=""File\Location\of\your\editor.exe""
That does the trick in my case.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
pangi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-01-25, 17:37 UTC

Post by *pangi »

I put quotation marks in options, and its works.

Before:
D:\Program Files\PSPad\PSPad.exe

After:
"D:\Program Files\PSPad\PSPad.exe"

-----------

Thx to everybody :wink:
Post Reply