Windows Vista build 5270 & TCM 6.54a.

English support forum

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

beslo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2006-02-22, 09:28 UTC

Windows Vista build 5270 & TCM 6.54a.

Post by *beslo »

I've just installed an evaluation copy of TCM 6.54a on my Vista system and noticed something strange. The button bar is not properly displayed. It is merely a grey band above the drive buttons.

Has anyone else encountered the same phenomenon (BTW I copied the installation from my test XP system because I noticed on this board that installation on Vista seems to have issues; on XP this TCM version works fine)?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41703
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This is a bug in VISTA after beta 1 (beta 1 was OK): It does not support any icons from 16-bit dlls! These are very common for .icl icon libraries, so I don't understand why Microsoft dropped the support for them. It will break a lot of applications.

The solution is simple: Use a 32-bit dll with icons instead.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

*.ico 32 BPP

Post by *Clo »

2beslo

:) Hello !

• You can too use separate *.ico instead DLLs¦ICLs.

• In example, you can get my own collection for free HERE.
- The most are 32 BPP ones…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
User avatar
Xtrician
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 412
Joined: 2005-04-24, 10:29 UTC
Location: Israel

Post by *Xtrician »

Hi, Can you please upload a screenshot of your TC in Vista?
Thanks.
Elad
beslo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2006-02-22, 09:28 UTC

Post by *beslo »

[quote="Xtrician"]Hi, Can you please upload a screenshot of your TC in Vista?
Thanks.[/quote]


I wouldn't mind uploading a screenshot, but I don't see how I can do this.



One of my team members in the States talked to a rep from Microsoft and it's even worse: They have removed [color=red][u][b]ALL 16 bit support[/b][/u][/color] after Beta 1.

Yesterday the Belgian radio news announced that IBM, Oracle and other major vendors filed a suit with the European Commission claiming that only MS software will still be able to run 100%. All other software (obviously including theirs) will no longer function.

According to these companies MS failed to inform them of these imminent changes so the changes they made themselves to their products after Beta 1 are useless because "MS changed Vista again after Beta 1".

For IBM Lotus Notes is a prime example (it already experienced minor problems in Beta 1 that where solved by IBM for Beta 2, but that will still prove no success because of other changes to the Vista build).


I guess more on this later.
User avatar
Stitscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: 2004-02-17, 12:34 UTC
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by *Stitscher »

beslo wrote: I wouldn't mind uploading a screenshot, but I don't see how I can do this.
Use http://www.imageshack.us/ ans post the link.
[img]-Tags doesn't work in this forum.
beslo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2006-02-22, 09:28 UTC

Post by *beslo »

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10897
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2beslo
Could you please remove the checkmark at "Disable BBCode in this post" when you write your posts :!:

You can permantly enable BBCode in your profile.
Last edited by petermad on 2006-02-23, 13:41 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.24b1 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41703
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I have done this already for him. As you can see in the screenshot, the icons for 32-bit programs (e.g. notepad) work just fine...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10897
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

[OT] MS arrogance

Post by *petermad »

[OT]

Amazing that Microsoft apparantly is going to realease an OS that doesn't support 16bit programs.

I mean - who would ever by a new car that could only drive on roads build after 1995 :?:
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.24b1 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41703
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I also find this very disturbing. The main advantage of the Wintel platform has always been its compatibility. Dropping support for 16-bit programs is a major problem. We use various 16-bit programs here, both our own custom built, which would have to be rewritten, and third party programs which do not exist in 32-bit versions. The same may be true for many companies out there.

Since Microsoft will drop support for XP home soon after the release of Vista (even for patches!), many companies will have to look for a different alternative...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
MiToZ
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2003-04-26, 20:07 UTC

Post by *MiToZ »

ghisler(Author) wrote: Since Microsoft will drop support for XP home soon after the release of Vista (even for patches!), many companies will have to look for a different alternative...
This is so NOT true ...
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10897
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2MiToZ
This is so NOT true
What is not true - that MS will drop XP Home support soon after Vista release, OR that companies will have to look elsewhere?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.24b1 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9512
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2ghisler(Author)
Since Microsoft will drop support for XP home soon after the release of Vista (even for patches!), many companies will have to look for a different alternative...
1. Companies don't use XP home they use XP Pro.
2. The support for MS operating systems is being extended for 12 months when a new service pack is released. Microsoft has already anounced Service Pack 3.

http://www.heise.de/newsticker/result.xhtml?url=/newsticker/meldung/68281
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

I thank God that Microsoft finally drops 16-Bit support as backwards compatibility has always been one of the reasons why real progress often takes so long.

If you still need to use 16-Bit programs, you are free to install an emulator.

Icfu
This account is for sale
Post Reply