This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

auto linked icons with path including spaces don't work.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Bug reports from previous betas (unresolved) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wallasaurus
New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:38 am    Post subject: auto linked icons with path including spaces don't work. Reply with quote

3dsmax in my workplace is installed by IT dept. into default dir (C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk....)

max icons never appear in TC.

I had a brainwave to copy 3dsmax icons to c:\icons\ folder and reassociate in control panel. This caused the icons to appear in TC! wicked!

Messy solution though and i'd imagine this will act the same for anything which is installed in 'program files' directory. Whose idea was that space anyway! Everyone knows that underscore is the thinking man's space character! Very Happy

maybe it can be fixed? if not I will cludge away and clutter my machine with more randome folders fo junk. Very Happy

thanks for a great app though Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where are these icons stored by default? Maybe in some inaccessible 64-bit directory?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I discovered that 7.04a is unable to find (ALt+F7) MS Word documents whose filenames include spaces, like:
ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc
Analysis_SC-VK480_second additional translation order.doc

Searching for
*REPORT_090225-004242*.doc
*SC-VK480*.doc
fixes the issue.

Windows XP Pro Russian SP3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7323
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2nemadeka

just put "" around the file name:
"ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc" - in stead of ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, is this going to be changed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 4505
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nemadeka wrote:
Thanks, is this going to be changed?
Hi, if this refers to the behaviour of the T.C. search dialogue, then the answer will be:
As can be told from this thread, Searching can't find existing files w. specific name , this behaviour has been changed / corrected in Total Commander v7.50 Public Beta 1. Smile

Karl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*This* refers to having to put the filename into double quotes.
Thanks for the tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 4505
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nemadeka wrote:
*This* refers to having to put the filename into double quotes.
Exactly. And inside the T.C. 7.50 PB1 search dialogue (alt+f7) you are no longer forced to enclose filenames in double quotes if they hold space characters. But you can do so.

Karl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Bug reports from previous betas (unresolved) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group