This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC says that 'everything' is not installed when path exists!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jivan_Mukta
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:33 pm    Post subject: TC says that 'everything' is not installed when path exists! Reply with quote

When I click on the check box 'Everything' before loading it into RAM, TC(32/64) says that 'everything.exe' is not installed (TC message 2041='...') and the box remains unchecked.
At the SAME TIME 'everything.exe' is runninng into the memory on elevated level. Then I reply with 'No' to the message 2041 and click on the check box 'Everything' one more time.
Now I am ready to use fast searching function. Sad

Obviously to interpret Everything as 'installed' TC requires something more than right path to everything.exe stored in TC main-ini.

My configuration is Windows 10 RS1 64bit (build 14393.222), TC main ini-file contains:
Code:
[Configuration]
...
Everything=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Everything.exe -startup
UseEverything=1
...

and my %COMMANDER_PATH%\Everything.exe is the latest 1.4.1.771b
(By the way 'UseEverything=' is not mentioned in the History.txt)

This problem does not exist when:
1. TC(32/64) has run as Administrator neither for final nor for any beta version of 'Everything'.
2. TC calls Everything.exe 1.3.4.686 final

In my opinion everything 1.4.1 betas work better than 1.3.4.686 final. So why these restrictions, why this strange behaviour happens?

An important improvement of 1.4.1 is using of two separated everything.ini files (I like it and use it):
a short one in everything.exe dir (%COMMANDER_PATH%), with a content
Code:
; Please make sure Everything is not running before modifying this file.
[Everything]
; settings stored in %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini
app_data=1
run_as_admin=1

and a second in %APPDATA%\Everything\ , together with everything.db.
In this way one can avoid creating everything.db in %COMMANDER_PATH%, which is much better for a portable application.
So there is a reason TC9 to be better adapted to newer 1.4.1 version.

An important note!
Code:
Everything=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Everything.exe -startup -app-data
does not work and this is not a TC-bug but a bug in ALL versions of Everything.exe!

I checked that the following commands don't work even from standard cmd.exe prompt:
Quote:
Everything.exe -app-data
Everything.exe -admin -app-data
Everything.exe -admin -startup -app-data

I am not sure if the bug with the option '-app-data' appears in the previous Windows versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7864
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your TC installation path contain spaces? If yes, try to quote path to Everything executable:
Code:
Everything="%COMMANDER_PATH%\Everything.exe" -startup

_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jivan_Mukta
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No spaces, %COMMANDER_PATH%=C:\TotalCMD\ . With or without quotes the problem remanins unless you load everything.exe before TC.

Some of my previous statments are not exact and I correct them.

I found a regularity related to both final 1.3.4 and beta 1.4.1 versions

Although the path to 'Everything.exe' exists, TC9(32/64) interprets 'Everything' as 'not installed' when

1. There is an option 'run_as_admin=1' in everything.ini
or
2. In TC main-ini [Configuration]
Everything="%COMMANDER_PATH%\Everything.exe" -startup -admin

In both cases TC is normaly started.

The bad TC massage (code 2041) " 'Everything' isn't installed! Do you want to download it now?" does not appear when
1. TC is run as Administrator.
2. TC is run normally but 'run_as_admin=0'

In all my tests TC9 and 'Everything.exe' run as portable apps ('Everything' is only unzipped EXE into C:\TotalCMD\ )

It seems to me it is an error with process identification.
How is it possible everithing.exe to be loaded into RAM by TC check box and the same time to be 'uninstalled' ?

So TC9 is not yet well adapted to run Everything.exe from the check box in search window.

In my opinion the right behaviour when path to Everything.exe exists is:
When I check 'Everything' in TC search window the only window that may appear is UAC-window.
So behaviour must be the same like running everything.exe from a TC button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2596
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running Everything as Admin is not necessary and also a security risk.
The best use of Everything is to install it as a service and run it at system start.
This way its always available, there is no UAC and TC can call it regardless of its own mode, with enhanced privileges or normal rights.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.19)
Fall Creators Update
TC 9.10 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34340
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I do not know why you have this problem, I cannot reproduce it. I recommend that you do what Horst.Epp suggests.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jivan_Mukta
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Horst.Epp

The only reason to prefer admin option is TC9 portability+Fast search
I'm far from the idea of starting of a service (it also calls UAC) from a portable drive.

But I trust you about better security and the convenience of service mode (I'm not a softwere developer)
So I'm going to use everything.exe -svc

But to save portability should add 'Stop Everything service' in TC-menu or in a button.

Thanks for the advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34340
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the problem seems to be that "Everything" does not accept connections from normal apps when running elevated. Only the elevated app can grant the non-elevated apps the right to access it.

Therefore you will either need to run TC elevated too, or run "Everything" non-elevated. I recommend the latter: TC can connect to non-elevated "Everything" while running elevated and non-elevated.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CopyCats
Member
Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Christian,

On an XP Pro Sp3 32b machine, I see a similar problem with TC 9.0 and Everything 1.3.4.686: I get the 'Everything isn't installed' message even though the Everything service is running.

All circumstances are default, I think:
- Everything is located in a folder of its own.
- It is running as a service (launched at boottime with the -svc parameter)
- No UAC active. Sole user is administrator.
- In everything.ini: run_as_admin=0
- In wincmd.ini: nothing related to Everything

The error goes away when I launch Everything manually (without any command line parameters). At that point, I have the Everything service running and I also have a regular instance of Everything running. The regular instance also puts an icon in the systray.

The error stays away when I close the Everything window using its [x] button (but Everything still shows the systray icon).

The problem reappears when I terminate Everything (the regular instance and its systray icon are gone, but the service is still running).

The problem doesn't bother me (I was just testing Everything, I don't really need it) but maybe something still isn't right. As far as I know, elevated rights do not play a role here.

Best, -Daan-
_________________
#5050 :: Everyone who believes in telekinesis, raise my hand!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34340
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, no idea. Could you try the newer 1.4.x version?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Roo
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly same experience as CopyCats describes. Would be nice if non-elevated TC could pickup the presence of Everything service. Windows 7 64-bit, TC and Everything both portable and both latest. (Everything portable offers to install the service, which is what I did, as I don't care about portability as such, I just like having all files and settings in one location that I choose.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group