This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Open Network folder freeze Total Commander

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SailorMax
Member
Member


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:45 am    Post subject: Open Network folder freeze Total Commander Reply with quote

Steps:
1. enter "\\", press Enter
2. enter in "Network" folder
3. enter in "Network (DOMAIN_NAME)" folder

Exp.: reading of "folder" content in separate thread with possibility to stop this process

Act.: Total Commander "Not Responding" while process will not finish. Some times it can take long time... Plus if leave this process in background and switch back to Total Commander after time, it try refresh directory => "Not Responding" again Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not a bug, it's a limitation of the current TC design: Currently all virtual folders except for the "Network Neighborhood" are read in the foreground. In TC9, they will be read in a background thread too. This has already been implemented.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mbluett
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:00 pm    Post subject: TC 8.52 and Network Slowness Reply with quote

I don't know whether this will help or not but I installed an app called Double Commander 0.6.6 beta and it functions as expected; whereas, TC 5.52 does not. It may help putting the thread in the background, but it looks to me there is some other problem afoot.

Using DC, there is a delay when clicking on WORKGROUP (which is to be expected). But once it lists the servers (within about 10 secs) it happily opens the filesystem without delay.

Using TC 8.52 and clicking on "Network Neighborhood", it presents a network snapshot almost immediately. The snapshot contains a list of media servers (which obviously cannot be opened). So, you have to click on "Network (WORKGROUP)". When you do this TC, in roughly 10 to 15 secs you see the server list but TC continues to bounce back and forth between Not Responding and responding with the busy icon going round and round. It continues like that for a long time, sometimes never ending (until I kill TC). This occurs whether I am connected wirelessly or directly connected to my router via a Gig interface. Also TC will flash (like it is refreshing it's screen) during this cycling.

For example, I started TC checking the WORKGROUP when I started writing this and it is still in the checking cycle even now. That is some 10 minutes now. I go back to check if it has completed periodically while I am writing this and the little wheel is still going round and round. This is one of those times that I am going to have to kill TC to get it to stop.

When I restart TC fairly soon it presents the WORKGROUP servers and then I can click on the server and immediately the filesystem displays.

As I said before DC does not have any problems (out of the normal). So that tells me there is something wrong with the way TC is written. Since the code for DC is open source perhaps you could look to see what function they are using and perhaps change TC so that it uses the same function.

Just a consideration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zygus
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that opening Network Neighbourhood will make TC 8.51A to be put into infinity loop. TC is refreshing list of hosts and when finish it starts refreshing again. There is no way to stop this, no way to close tab, or to change tab. It makes program totally unusable, ready only to kill. Workaround is to known full hosts name and do not enter into NN main folder (by cd \\).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2664
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zygus wrote:
I can confirm that opening Network Neighbourhood will make TC 8.51A to be put into infinity loop. TC is refreshing list of hosts and when finish it starts refreshing again. There is no way to stop this, no way to close tab, or to change tab. It makes program totally unusable, ready only to kill. Workaround is to known full hosts name and do not enter into NN main folder (by cd \\).

Did you test it in the actual TC 9.0a
or why do you post in this old thread ?
Error reports to old version make no sense for a Tool like TC
which allows you to upgrade at no cost.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1709 (OS Build 16299.64)
Fall Creators Update
TC 9.12 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC 8.51a is too old for Windows 10. Microsoft made various changes which broke some TC functions. Please update to TC 9.0a.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zygus
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
Did you test it in the actual TC 9.0a
or why do you post in this old thread ?


TC9.0a seems to be free from the buggy behaviour of TC8.5x.
And i am not using Win10 but Win7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ovavounda
New Member
New Member


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:09 am    Post subject: Open Network folder freeze Total Commander Reply with quote

And another thing.. Everytime I quit the game and try to re open it, It has to update to july 2nd build and takes up to an hour. Why cant I just quit the game and re-open it like normal. Why does it have to update everytime I try to play it? like wtf seriously....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7306
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ovavounda = is this a troll?
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be a spam bot. I googled "Everytime I quit the game and try to re open it", and it seems to be a 1:1 copy of the following post:
http://forum.willyousurvive.com/index.php?/topic/11275-you-cant-even-open-the-gi-or-the-store/#entry75364
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zygus
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rather troll bot. Spam bot would be trying to advertise something, this entry is just out of context.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group