Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Replacing default windows file manager with totalcmd
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pasteau
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 6:52 am    Post subject: Replacing default windows file manager with totalcmd Reply with quote

How can i replace standard file manager by totalcmd? I was searching the net using google and nothing. I would to do that, the directories will be opened by default with totalcmd, but not by ugly windows explorer.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1022
Location: Floating in the clouds

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:44 am    Post subject: Re: Replacing default windows file manager with totalcmd Reply with quote

pasteau wrote:
How can i replace standard file manager by totalcmd?


The closest think to what you want to do (at least the closest i know about) is the procudure i describe below. If i remember correctly, Christian posted a link to this file in this forum sometime ago. If you don't feel comfortable about performing the procedure i describe, try searching for the link in this forum.

- Open notepad
- Paste the following lines in it (without the Code: of course Smile ):

Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Open in TotalCmd]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Open in TotalCmd\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\TotalCmd\\TotalCmd.exe\" /n \"%1\""


- Save the file as "anyname.reg". Remember to save it as plain ANSI-text, not unicode or anything else.
- execute "anyname.reg" from the explorer. If windows ask you to confirm if you wish to add the entries to the registry, reply Yes

Now, when you rightclick on a folder, along with the Explore option in the rightclick menu, you will also see a Open in TotalCmd one. If anyone else has a better solution, i'd be interested to see it too.

P.S.: If you have installed TotalCmd elsewhere, instead of C:\\Program Files\\TotalCmd\\TotalCmd.exe, you should put the exact location of TotalCmd, just remember to put two backslashes instead of one in the path (as shown above). Leave everything else exactly as is or this will not work.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pasteau
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, it is not thing what i think about.

E.g. i have a dir, or a shortcut to a dir on a desktop. I clicking on it left mouse button twice, or pushing 'enter' on it, and windows explorer opens -- i wonna totalcmd instead of windows explorer.

Now, you know what i mean? Wink

Everything what i expect, is a reg key where to place totalcmd.exe %*, i realy have no idea where it can be.

Thanks Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 7884
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pasteau wrote:
no, it is not thing what i think about.

E.g. i have a dir, or a shortcut to a dir on a desktop. I clicking on it left mouse button twice, or pushing 'enter' on it, and windows explorer opens -- i wonna totalcmd instead of windows explorer.

Now, you know what i mean? Wink

Everything what i expect, is a reg key where to place totalcmd.exe %*, i realy have no idea where it can be.

Thanks Wink



Well I think wanderer is right. His registry setting creates the popup menu entry "Open in TotalCmd" for directories. Left clicking twice or pushing 'enter' just executes the default popup menu entry which is always shown in bold font. The default setting is set to "explorer".
You can use Explorer to change the default setting for the popup menu. I can't give you a complete description of this because I have a german Windows XP Pro version. Very Happy It tried it on my machine and it works fine!
I don't know the registry key(s) to do that. Maybe someone else knows these keys.
You could use Regmon to monitor changes to the registry while applying the changes using the explorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CoMiKe
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Salamanca, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look to default values in the following keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Folder/shell/open/command/

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Folder/shell/explore/command/

and try to change it the way you want.

If it works, please, don't forget to talk it us.
_________________
0penware.com - A blog of software, devices and ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
on
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i already started a thread about this problem 6 months ago but it's removed i don't know why. i tried to change the regkeys of open and explore shell extension for TC and (for example) it didn't work when i clicked the 'Open folder' button in a Download dialog of Internet Explorer. nevermind.
nobody could help me and Christian said it's not really possible because TC can't handle the same cmdline 'variables' as explorer can.
maybe it's fixed in 5.51 but i haven't heard of this fix.
i don't really understand why it didn't work even if i didn't think about it too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
on
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyway it should work, and you should try to set "Open in TotalCmd"as default command in Folder options. Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
on
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it'll work on folders but it's recommended to set up a separated TC with a different wincmd.ini for this action to make available a TC which is running only as 1 instance (if you use TC open any window.
I tried it, very good but such buttons like 'Open folder' button of Internet Explorer Download dialog won't open TC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pasteau
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i've got this! Wink

I was analyze the free version of powerdesk which can do thing about we talking.

The solution is:
in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Folder/shell/ set default value to something friendly for totalcmd, e.g. 'TC'.
If you set to 'TC', then create key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Folder/shell/TC/command/ and set it's default value to a path to totalcmd, e.g. C:\totalcmd\totalcmd.exe %1

And all works fine Wink [below is the content of the .reg file which you can fill by copy&paste -- but don't forget about changing your path to TC]

Code:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]
@="TC"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\TC]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\TC\command]
@="C:\\totalcmd\\totalcmd.exe %1"


Thanks for your answers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pasteau
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emm... wait a moment. It's not already done. As i see, totalcmd opens as i talk, but panes aren't set in a suitable place. I'm working on it now, so be patient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
on
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pasteau wrote:
emm... wait a moment. It's not already done. As i see, totalcmd opens as i talk, but panes aren't set in a suitable place. I'm working on it now, so be patient.


it's easy, check the Command line parameters section of Help of TC.
/L switch is for Left pane, /R is right, etc.
you may add two RegKeys with names like:
"Open in Left Pane" and "Open in Right Pane"
or left is default... hundreds of possibilities you have ;-)

please forget my stupid comment about using two wincmd.ini.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pasteau
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, now it's done Wink

Below is a correct content of the .reg file

Code:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]
@="TC"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\TC]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\TC\command]
@="\"C:\\totalcmd\\totalcmd.exe\" \"%1\""


ps.
'on' it was not a problem with argument what i tried to pass but with reg value, which cause that, the system couldn't pass the correct value to a totalcmd.exe. But now it's all right Wink

ps2.
funny, the solution is very similar to that what wanderer was proposed Wink

ps3.
i suggest to include option to a ,,replace'' windows explorer by totalcmd in further version of TC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djk
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 1651
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good job, pasteau (and the others) Smile
_________________
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jonas
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 325
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pasteau wrote:
i suggest to include option to a ,,replace'' windows explorer by totalcmd in further version of TC.

Yes, esspetialy for undoing too!

So the only thing we need now is a possibility to replace the std. windows file-open dialoge with TC, but I think this isn't pollible using the Reg. Sad
In an earlier thread aoubt this Christian said that he thinks that the power of TC are the two windows and the ability of copying/moving/etc. files between them (german: http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=7508#7508)
But I think that also a one-window-TC would have more power than the win file.open dialog. eg. the sortingmodes (win doesn't save them), the quickserarch (Alt-'letter'), the history the bookmarks in Ctrl-D etc....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
poiuytr
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, after such a cool replacement (TC<->explorer) let's make another step ahead. It is possible to "integrate" TC to Internet Explorer's right click menu. As downloaders (FlashGeet, GetRight etc.) do: "Download with TC" or "Open with TC" for ftp links.
Reg editing wont help.
I guess it requires a plugin for IE or at least VBScripting skills. May be someone could do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group