[AHK] Windows 7 taskbar integration tool

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
j
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2009-04-13, 19:49 UTC

[AHK] Windows 7 taskbar integration tool

Post by *j »

This is my second AHK script ever, so any feedback is appreciated as I am new to it's pitfalls.

Windows 7 taskbar integration tool v0.7

Description
The taskbar in Windows 7 introduced several new features. One is the ability to show a progress bar within the icon.
I made a little AHK script that reads the progress bar of all active transfers and translates that into the new Windows 7 progress bar feature.
When a transfer is paused, the progress bar will turn yellow and when the confirmation dialog is shown it turns red.

Installation
Just download the script and start it. You may need to tweak the [face=courier]StartLabel[/face] in [face=courier]tcprogress.ahk[/face] as this is used to determine whether a transfer is paused (the script is not language aware yet).
It's the text on the left button in the progress dialog when a transfer is paused and labeled "Start" in English and German.

Screenshot
Image: http://i29.tinypic.com/33a4hkx.png

Download
TCProgress - Version 0.7 (209 KB)
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

This is your second ahk script ever? Nice done.
The code looks good and well structured.

It wont work on Windows 8.0. ;-)
tb4ahk.ahk wrote:TB_IsWindowsCompatible()
{
...
return ((dwMajorVersion>=6) and (dwMinorVersion>=1))
}
Can't test it because I lack a Windows 7 here.
j
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2009-04-13, 19:49 UTC

Post by *j »

Samuel wrote:It wont work on Windows 8.0. ;-)
Hey, don't expect Microsoft to increase internal kernel numbers for that by more than 0.1 ;-).
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

No I didnt. This will not work.

Code: Select all

dwMajorVersion=7
dwMinorVersion=0
You will need this line:

Code: Select all

return ((dwMajorVersion>=6) or ((dwMajorVersion==6) and (dwMinorVersion>=1)))
j
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2009-04-13, 19:49 UTC

Post by *j »

Samuel wrote:You will need this line.
Yes I already did something very similar:

Code: Select all

return (((dwMajorVersion==6) and (dwMinorVersion>=1)) or (dwMajorVersion>6))
Well not that critical anyway, we have yet to see Windows 7 shipping to customers ;-).
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50532
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I plan to add Windows 7 taskbar progress bars next week when Windows 7 final will become available to MSDN subscribers. Currently there is only a beta an RC, and no one knows what will still be there in the final release.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
j
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2009-04-13, 19:49 UTC

Post by *j »

ghisler(Author) wrote:I plan to add Windows 7 taskbar progress bars next week when Windows 7 final will become available to MSDN subscribers. Currently there is only a beta an RC, and no one knows what will still be there in the final release.
Ah, very good to have internal support for it.

Well integrating it is really simple and I am very sure that there will be no changes in the API for that.

For everyone how can't wait until a build with support is out, feel free to use the the script :-)
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9537
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2ghisler(Author)
Currently there is only a beta an RC, and no one knows what will still be there in the final release.
That's wrong. The final version has already been leaked and can be found if someone searches...
Microsoft has even released the SHA-1 checksums to make sure noone loads a virus-load ISO from the torrent of choice but the unmodified RTM.

Ah and of course the RC 1 is feature ready and the APIs are stable. So if you want to save some days.. :wink:
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50532
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

It's only 3 or so days, no need to make an illegal download... :)
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply