Windows 8.1 not detected correctly / Please update manifest

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Windows 8.1 not detected correctly / Please update manifest

Post by *Dalai »

Hey there,

TC detects Windows 8.1 (and higher) as Windows 8. It says Windows 8, (6.2.9200), while it should be Windows 8.1, (6.3.9600).

However, this is because of Microsoft's kind of crappy "solution" again (to what problem, btw?). They changed the behaviour of GetVersionEx API function:
With the release of Windows 8.1, the behavior of the GetVersionEx API has changed in the value it will return for the operating system version. The value returned by the GetVersionEx function now depends on how the application is manifested.

Applications not manifested for Windows 8.1 will return the Windows 8 OS version value (6.2). Once an application is manifested for a given operating system version, GetVersionEx will always return the version that the application is manifested for in future releases. To manifest your applications for Windows 8.1 please refer to Targeting your application for Windows 8.1.
If TC's code depends on correct detection of the Windows version, I recommend to update the manifest to include compatibility for Win8, Win8.1 and perhaps Win10. Maybe this helps plugins, too.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW »

Changing manifest probably won't help:
Once an application is manifested for a given operating system version, GetVersionEx will always return the version that the application is manifested
So setting Windows 8.1 in manifest will cause GetVersionEx to return Windows 8.1 - even under Windows 10.

One of possible solutions is to use VerifyVersionInfo API. However, I've got a complex solution and I will post it here - but I must perform some additional tests in the first place.
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

MarcinW wrote:Changing manifest probably won't help:
Once an application is manifested for a given operating system version, GetVersionEx will always return the version that the application is manifested
So setting Windows 8.1 in manifest will cause GetVersionEx to return Windows 8.1 - even under Windows 10.
Yes, I know. That's why TC should include compatibility for Win10, too ;).

[ADD]
The compatibility ID for Win10 can be found here: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/chuckw/archive/2013/09/10/manifest-madness.aspx
I already successfully tested it in some of my applications.
[/ADD]
However, I've got a complex solution and I will post it here - but I must perform some additional tests in the first place.
I'm looking forward to read about that :).

MfG Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48108
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

OK, no problem, I will change it. I will not add it for Windows 10 until I have tested TC on it.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6507
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

ghisler(Author) wrote:OK, no problem, I will change it. I will not add it for Windows 10 until I have tested TC on it.
I use TC under Windows 10 since its availablity without any problem so far.
I just copied over all my tools and they all work fine. :D
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

ghisler(Author) wrote:OK, no problem, I will change it.
Thanks. While at it you should correct some more errors in several files:
  • replace the generic "CompanyName.ProductName.YourApp" and the equally generic description in the embedded manifest of totalcmd64.exe with something more meaningful ;). The external manifest is OK, though.
  • both tcmdx32.exe and tcmdx64.exe have the same description as in tcmadm64.exe/tcmadmin.exe but they're not the "Admin Module"
Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

http://www.ghisler.com/history852.txt wrote:16.11.14 Fixed: Compatibility flags for Windows Vista, 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 in manifest (32/64)
Confirm the fix.

However, it's a little bit irritating to see "> Windows 7: 6.3" on Windows 8.1. I guess, you made it on purpose, but I don't see any advantage in doing it this way instead of just showing "Windows 8.1". But that may be just me ...

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48108
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks for confirming the fix.

I have NOT added detection of Windows 8.1 to the system info dialog yet. Therefore it is detected as an unknown Windows version 6.3, which is what is reported by Windows 8.1.

I may or may not change this before the release of TC 8.52 final, but will of course fix it in 9.0.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
batchman61
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 2003-02-07, 19:24 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *batchman61 »

confirmed for Windows 10 Enterprise
Windows version: 10.0 (Build 10240)
Windows mode: >Windows7
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

ghisler(Author) wrote:I have NOT added detection of Windows 8.1 to the system info dialog yet. Therefore it is detected as an unknown Windows version 6.3, which is what is reported by Windows 8.1.
I see. Wouldn't it be better to show "> Windows 8: 6.3" instead? I guess TC already detects Windows 8(.0) correctly, though I can't test it right now, so TC knows that it's greater/newer than that.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48108
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Yes, it's a good idea. But I plan to show 8.1 and 10 too.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48108
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This should be fixed in TC 8.52 RC1, please test it!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9404
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

history852.txt wrote:11.08.15 Fixed: Commands - System information didn't show Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 (32/64)
Confirm the fix (for Win8.1 at least).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48108
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks! Can anyone test it on Windows 10 too, please?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14825
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

I can confirm that TC 8.52r1 reports "Windows 10" in the System information dialog - testet with both TC 32bit and 64bit.
Last edited by petermad on 2015-08-21, 22:33 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply