[solved] Folder shortcut button in the focused side

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
slated
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-09-25, 00:28 UTC

[solved] Folder shortcut button in the focused side

Post by *slated »

Hello,

I have been trying to create a folder shortcut in the button bar and it works well except that it opens the folder in the side that I'm not working on.

I do understand why it behaves like this but was wondering if there any way to have a button open the folder in the currently focused side? (without the need to focus the other side and open the folder).

Thanks
Last edited by slated on 2016-09-25, 09:56 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1014
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

Try this:
Command:

Code: Select all

cd %P
Parameter: emtpy
Start path:

Code: Select all

D:\FolderYouWantInTargetPanel\
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14826
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

cd %P
in the command field will not work - the command field does not accept TC parameters like %P.

If you for example want a button that takes you to c:\windows you can use the following code.
Just copy ALL the code here under to clipboard (Ctrl+C), right-click on the button bar in TC and select "Insert":

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd c:\windows

%COMMANDER_EXE%,6
Open Windows Folder


-1
Yo can afterwards edit the button to point to the folder of your choice.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
slated
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-09-25, 00:28 UTC

Post by *slated »

Thank you very much guys, now it works as I want. Looks like my command command wasn't right when I started.
sexy69
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2016-06-22, 17:21 UTC

Post by *sexy69 »

petermad wrote:right-click on the button bar in TC and select "Insert":
For me it is just that:
Change
Set default icon library

And no: Insert
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1014
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

Right, the %P wont work in "Command" but it's not supposed to do anything in this case anyway.

So Command: cd
Parameter: %P
Start patch: PathForTargetPanel
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14826
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2ZoSTeR
So Command: cd
Parameter: %P
Start patch: PathForTargetPanel
That will open the directory in the non-focused panel - that is not what
slated wanted.


2sexy69
For me it is just that:
Change
Set default icon library
You have to have the data in the clipboard first - mark ALL of the code (in green) below and press Crtl+C (or right-click and choose Copy):

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd c:\windows

%COMMANDER_EXE%,6
Open Windows Folder


-1
and then go to TC an right click on an empty space in the button bar.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply