Total7zip

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Akon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-09-24, 15:30 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *Akon » 2018-09-30, 16:25 UTC

Backing to my WIM-problem: I'm using Total7zip with external 7-Zip (installed) 64-bit. Packing to WIM-archive from TC with default options works fine, i.e. I only press Alt+F5, then choose radiobutton "o - > wim":..., and getting WIM-archive. Entering to WIM-archive also works fine. Good work from Total7zip!

Now I need to add NTFS permissions to archive. Is it conveniently possible somehow with Total7zip?

As far as I understand "Configure..." button from "Pack files" dialog (Alt+F5) calls addition configuration dialog of a packer. Am I right?

Concretely, Total7zip calls 7zG.exe there. However, changing parameters there leads to further errors in my case, for example, when I simply choose "wim" archive. How does Total7zip work with parameters here? What's logic?

Is it possible to configure Total7zip to always apply some parameters, i.e. always add NTFS permissions for WIM-archives?

Akon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-09-24, 15:30 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *Akon » 2018-09-30, 16:50 UTC

I found a workaround here in this topic:
You are right - volumes setting is not saved.
But this is how original 7-zip works.

You can use volumes - just use this trick:
1. press Alt+F5, "Pack Files" dialog will be displayed.
2. choose "7z" packer
3. check "Encrypt" - if this option is set, plugin will show you settings dialog before it will create archive.
4. do not enter password in this dialog, but set your volume size in this dialog and press OK.

In other words, you can always use "Encrypt" checkbox in Total Commander to tell plugin that you want to see options dialog and add some special option only for this new archive.
In my case instead of volumes settings I wanted WIM-archive settings. So, to call settings dialog and get result from it one must not use "Configure..." button, but "Encrypt" checkbox. Not so obvious, though:)

Akon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-09-24, 15:30 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *Akon » 2018-10-01, 05:25 UTC

After I have managed with packing to WIM-archive with NTFS permissions, I meet obstackle to unpack such archive properly, i.e. with restoring NTFS-permissions. Neither TC's convenient way "enter to archive and copy from" nor "Unpack files" dialog (Alt+F9) do it. This makes Total7zip not very useful for me, unfortunately.

Nevertheless, I'm keeping a hope and repeated - are there any ways to unpack WIM-archives with NTFS permission restoring with Total7zip plugin? Maybe some settings in Total7zip.xml? This action is trivial with 7-Zip shell context menu.

tc_fan_5598
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-07-01, 11:53 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *tc_fan_5598 » 2019-07-01, 11:58 UTC

Hi,

Do you have any plan to update plugin to:
https:// sourceforge.net /p/sevenzip/ discussion/45797/ thread/24f079ab/?limit=25&page=1

It would include support for qcow2 if so.

BR
Arek

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 630
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *Usher » 2019-07-01, 12:17 UTC

You can update 7-zip and its plugins on your own, see explanations in other topic: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=51931&p=351994#p351994
If you think that some changes are still needed in Total7zip itself, could you describe them here, please?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
dindog
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 2010-10-18, 07:41 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *dindog » 2019-10-13, 18:11 UTC

i want to pack a folder with excluded filename, say foo.exe. how do i suppose to add the parameter to tell total7zip do that? I tried add -x!foo.exe , it prompt an alert said its invalid input

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 630
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Total7zip

Post by *Usher » 2019-10-13, 20:34 UTC

Did you try to use flat view? Go to the folder, press ctrl+B , select all, unselect foo.exe (or *.exe if needed), then use Alt+F5.
It's the way TC works.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

Post Reply