Two new USB installers for Total Commander

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

small copy-bug in tc2usb.exe

Post by *versalzen »

hi christian,
a small bug, i encountered:

if i try to install to C:\stuff\tc\totalcmd and C:\stuff does not exists. tc2usb.exe gives a failure message. "error copying file!"

after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program says "failure" again, but i cannot press any button but cancel.
or:
after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program does nothing, but the back/next buttons are greyed out and i can only press cancel.
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

how to automaticly copy files from within the startmenu?

Post by *versalzen »

2christian:
do you plan to implement an option/dialog to include files which are linked in the starter menu?

i got a lot of useful tools in my starter menu, but they don't be copied to the usb-stick right now.

something like:

menu95=TC => USB (TC auf den USB Stick installieren)
cmd95=tc2usb.exe
path95=%COMMANDER_PATH%

or

menu97=TC Plugins Manager
cmd97=TC_plugman.exe
path97=%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\exe\TC_plugman\

etc...

i know, this could be complicated (and not economical for drive space) to implement,
but it *is* useful (for me)

so it might be a dialog for the user to choose:

Code: Select all

|   [x] copy all files/data which is mentioned in the startmenu
|      [x] incl. the whole directories and sub dirs, in which one of those files is placed 
|       (so libaries and other dll stuff will be copied too)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50386
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

do you plan to implement an option/dialog to include files which are linked in the starter menu?
Sorry, currently not. Most of the programs there are external, so copying them would cause several problems:
1. Licence problems: Microsoft wouldn't be amused if I copied e.g. winword.exe to the stick
2. Settings problems: Winword would not find its registry keys
3. Dependency problems: Many non-portable programs will not work without specific files in system32.

Therefore I'm leaving it up to the user.
if i try to install to C:\stuff\tc\totalcmd and C:\stuff does not exists. tc2usb.exe gives a failure message. "error copying file!"
Indeed the installer cannot currently create multple level deep directories, sorry.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2ghisler(Author)
Indeed the installer cannot currently create multple level deep directories, sorry.
Delphi has a nice function called ForceDirectories. It allows you to create nested directory structures. It should be useful in this and other cases.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50386
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

The USB installer is written in VC++ 6.0, though, to make it very small. I should have such code somewhere, though.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2ghisler(Author)
The USB installer is written in VC++ 6.0
Ah yes I forgot about that :-)
Tsunulukai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: 2003-02-07, 23:44 UTC

Post by *Tsunulukai »

Hi all ! I'm currently using Total Commander from an USB Key.

Code: Select all

[Autorun]
Label=USB Key
Icon=Tools\TotalCmd\Totalcmd.exe,0
Shell=TotalCmd
Shell\TotalCmd=&Total Commander
Shell\TotalCmd\Command=Tools\TotalCmd\Totalcmd.exe
With this code, it automatically opens when I double-click on the drive in Windows Explorer...
My question is :
is there any way to lanch TotalCmd with the USB Disk root shown in the left/right pannel ?
I tried the "/L" switch with the "%Commander_path%\..\.." but it doesn't work !
Wouldn't be useful to add an option that could allow it ?

Thanks
User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

relative pathnames in wincmd.ini

Post by *versalzen »

it would be very nice, if the wincmd.ini could handle relative paths for i.e. the editor.

on every system i plug my usb-drive, it gets another drive-letter (F: or G: or T: ...)
my editor is on the stick, but unfortunately i have to choose it again on every start of TC, because the drive-letter changed.

i tried something like path: "..\bla\foo\editor.exe" but it doesnt work. (file not found)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
Tsunulukai
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: 2003-02-07, 23:44 UTC

Post by *Tsunulukai »

I think you should try this :

Code: Select all

%Commander_Path%\..\..\bla\foo\editor.exe

for example, if your tcmd is in g:\tools\totalcmd\ & you type

Code: Select all

cmd /k dir %commander_path%\..
, it will list the content of g:\tools\
I guess it also works for calling external editors.
User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

Post by *versalzen »

Tsunulukai wrote:I think you should try this :

Code: Select all

%Commander_Path%\..\..\bla\foo\editor.exe

for example, if your tcmd is in g:\tools\totalcmd\ & you type

Code: Select all

cmd /k dir %commander_path%\..
, it will list the content of g:\tools\
I guess it also works for calling external editors.
it worked! thanks a lot.
.oO(hmpf. why didnt had i this simple idea?)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6950
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Nested Bar Creator with U3 version ?

Post by *Horst.Epp »

As I now have an U3 stick there are some questions:

2christian

why is there only version 6.53 available as U3 ?

2allOthers

has someone found a way to successfully use the Nested Bar Creator
in the U3 environment ?
User avatar
gbo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: 2005-03-31, 19:58 UTC
Location: Lausanne (Switzerland)

Re: Nested Bar Creator with U3 version ?

Post by *gbo »

Horst.Epp wrote:As I now have an U3 stick there are some questions:
2christian
why is there only version 6.53 available as U3 ?
https://plugins.ghisler.com/addons/totalcmd.u3p
Link to the version 6.54
Horst.Epp wrote: 2allOthers

has someone found a way to successfully use the Nested Bar Creator
in the U3 environment ?
It works fine here

Use :

Command : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Up_1.ico
Icon : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Dn_1.ico

Command : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\bars\Bar_2.bar
Icon : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Dn_2.ico

...

HTH
Gil
Licence #17346

90% of coding is debugging. The other 10% is writing bugs.
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6950
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Thanks gbo, works fine now
User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 814
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by *Sombra »

Why these ini settings of wincmd are ignored when copy to usb?

Code: Select all

drivelib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\drivebar.dll
IconLib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcicolib.icl
I know that in usb sticks with port usb 1.0 is a little slow launch TC (in mine case this happen when i active IconLib=...) But could be an option in the wizard guide for the user.

Another suggestion could be, show a page with file list of wincmd directory, with the files no includes in default installation of TC.
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
JP
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 273
Joined: 2003-02-13, 09:15 UTC

Re: Not in French here

Post by *JP »

Clo wrote:2Tilde

:) Bonsoir, Hello !

- Vous ne devez pas poster en Français sur ce forum. Veuillez poster sur le Forum Français avec un lien vers cette rubrique, l'Auteur est tout à fait capable de lire votre message en Français, mais pas tous les autres Membres…
Cordialement,
Claude
Clo
Si l'on ne peut pas poster en français dans ce forum, pourquoi vous l'avez fait? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Post Reply