Inplace rename is not closed when changing current dir
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
Inplace rename is not closed when changing current dir
It seemed to me that this bug has already been reported here, but I failed to find it... If I just missed it somehow, please, close this topic.
1. Place the cursor on any file/folder, press Shift+F6 to activate the inplace rename editbox.
2. Click on the [*][/b] button in the panel header to show the Directory Hotlist.
3. Select any folder from this list.
4. The current folder is changed, but the rename editbox is still shown and active.
© Report from the Russian forum.
1. Place the cursor on any file/folder, press Shift+F6 to activate the inplace rename editbox.
2. Click on the [*][/b] button in the panel header to show the Directory Hotlist.
3. Select any folder from this list.
4. The current folder is changed, but the rename editbox is still shown and active.
© Report from the Russian forum.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
Using TC 11.03 / Win10 x64
Using TC 11.03 / Win10 x64
- StickyNomad
- Power Member
- Posts: 1933
- Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
- Location: Germany
Confirmed - The positive thing is, that if you hit Enter afterwards the file is not renamed.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Confirmed, I will change that!
Please let me know if you can find any other way to change directories where the rename box isn't removed.
Please let me know if you can find any other way to change directories where the rename box isn't removed.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
There are manyghisler(Author) wrote:Please let me know if you can find any other way to change directories where the rename box isn't removed.
change directory using the following menu
Code: Select all
POPUP "Navigation"
MENUITEM "Go back", cm_GotoPreviousDir
MENUITEM "Go forward", cm_GotoNextDir
MENUITEM "Go back, no ftp", cm_GotoPreviousLocalDir
MENUITEM "Go forward, no ftp", cm_GotoNextLocalDir
MENUITEM "Open dir or zip under cursor", cm_GoToDir
MENUITEM "Transfer to left", cm_TransferLeft
MENUITEM "Transfer to right", cm_TransferRight
END_POPUP
related to this bug, if you start inplace renaming then execute sort command (by mouse from main menu) the files are sorted but the raname box doesn't removed and if you continued to rename, the renaming will fail
here is another menu
Code: Select all
POPUP "Sorting"
MENUITEM "Sort by name", cm_SrcByName
MENUITEM "Sort by extension", cm_SrcByExt
MENUITEM "Sort by size", cm_SrcBySize
MENUITEM "Sort by date", cm_SrcByDateTime
MENUITEM "Unsorted", cm_SrcUnsorted
MENUITEM "Reversed order", cm_SrcNegOrder
MENUITEM SEPARATOR
MENUITEM "Sort by first column", cm_SrcSortByCol1
MENUITEM "Sort by second column", cm_SrcSortByCol2
MENUITEM "Sort by third column", cm_SrcSortByCol3
MENUITEM "etc...", cm_SrcSortByCol4
END_POPUP
in general it will be better to hide rename box once the user start navigating the main menu, maybe there are other commands will be not safe to execute while rename box is active,
for example when i executed cm_Return from the menu while rename box is visible, TC hanging about 3 minutes before return back and opening the file under the cursor
tested using TC7pb3/Win ME
as expected here is a very bad bug (related to above one)
1- start inplace renaming file or folder e.g. in left panel
2- from main menu execute swap panels (cm_Exchange)
3- continue renaming and press enter
rename process will complete but for an item (file or folder) in the right panel (now it is left after cm_exchange) that has the same index of left panel item you start renaming before exchanging.
tested using TC7pb3/Win ME
1- start inplace renaming file or folder e.g. in left panel
2- from main menu execute swap panels (cm_Exchange)
3- continue renaming and press enter
rename process will complete but for an item (file or folder) in the right panel (now it is left after cm_exchange) that has the same index of left panel item you start renaming before exchanging.
tested using TC7pb3/Win ME
If you use cm_GoToFirstFile while inplace renaming, the cursor disappears.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
OK, I have now added some code which removes the rename box when TC receives ANY internal command. The private beta testers may already test this now.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
Yes - it works fine.The private beta testers may already test this now.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Confirm fixing in pb4.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
Using TC 11.03 / Win10 x64
Using TC 11.03 / Win10 x64
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact: