How to handle the Find with "Find Text" in FS Plgu
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
How to handle the Find with "Find Text" in FS Plgu
The find function (Alt-F7) has a checkbox "Find text". I know it is possible to handle this feature in FS plugins. CDDatabase does it very well, but i can't find information this anywhere in the forum.
Does anyone know how to handle this?
Another Question:
Is it possible to use the custom columns defined in a FS plugin in the FIND window of TC through the plugin TAB or is this tab only for content plugins?
Does anyone know how to handle this?
Another Question:
Is it possible to use the custom columns defined in a FS plugin in the FIND window of TC through the plugin TAB or is this tab only for content plugins?
______________________
David Jorge
Personal License #117854
David Jorge
Personal License #117854
Ok, let's be more accurate.There must be a way to detect this option.

My guess - CDDatabase works under the following assumption: if TC requests file content during file enumeration phase it means there search in progress and CDDatabawse returns as result not original file, but special text file called <original filename>.comment. This trick allows for TC to check search criteria.
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
The right way to detect whether a text search is going on is to implement the FsStatusInfo function in the plugin, and look for the value
FS_STATUS_OP_SEARCH_TEXT
FS_STATUS_OP_SEARCH_TEXT
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
No, that's not supported.Is it possible to handle text search inside of plugin without creating fake files?
It should - can you give me an example when it isn't called, please?BTW, FsStatusInfo is not always called by TC.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
I guess you mean example for TC7, not for older version?It should - can you give me an example when it isn't called, please?
Example 1: (frequent)
1. For some reason error message appears "...Do you want to continue execution? YES/NO"
2. user press YES button - the next FsStatusInfo call is missing.
Example 2: (rarely)
1. user switch TC to show temp panel with custom view containing fields from several content plugins.
2. TC starts to fill in background thread custom fields in this view and at this moment user press Ctrl+R - the next FsStatusInfo call is missing.
There also exists issue not related to file enumeration. You wrote in Help file:
But all newly added functions FsContentxxx aren't enclosed.All calls to plugin functions will be enclosed in a pair of FsStatusInfo() calls: At the start, FsStatusInfo(...,FS_STATUS_START,...) and when the operation is done FsStatusInfo(...,FS_STATUS_END,...).
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I will check that, thanks. Please note that FsStatusInfo is only called for foreground thread operations. Background thread calls are NOT enclosed. The FsContentxxx calls aren't enclosed either because they are treated like content plugin calls, not file system plugins. I will put a note in the help.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Can you tell me the exact words of the error message, please? I need it because I cannot find any location in my code where the second FsStatusInfo is not called. If you only know the Russian text, please search it in wcmd_rus.lng and tell me the string number. Thanks!Example 1: (frequent)
1. For some reason error message appears "...Do you want to continue execution? YES/NO"
2. user press YES button - the next FsStatusInfo call is missing.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
I mean the following message.
I dont have any *.lng file so I don't know what is the string number.---------------------------
Total Commander
---------------------------
External exception E06D7363.
Please report this error to the Author,
with a description of what you were doing when this error occured!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
That's not really an error message, it's a crash in some plugin or external dll! What you see is the 'catch all' exception handler in Total Commander. When we get to this point, all operations are completely stopped, including calls to plugins.
Can you tell me what you were doing when you received this access violation? I'm trying to catch such access violations individually for plugin calls and warn the user in which plugin it occurred. Apparently I didn't catch this specific call...
Can you tell me what you were doing when you received this access violation? I'm trying to catch such access violations individually for plugin calls and warn the user in which plugin it occurred. Apparently I didn't catch this specific call...
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
It is exactly what I supposed.ghisler(Author) wrote:When we get to this point, all operations are completely stopped, including calls to plugins.
Of course I cannot! What do you think - I have some specific scenario causing exception in TC and I didn't reported about it?!Can you tell me what you were doing when you received this access violation?

- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50479
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
That's not what I meant - I would like to know what function you were using in TC when you received the access violation, e.g. just browsing directories, uploading to the plugin or downloading from it, etc.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com