[BUG] can't search for two directory names at once

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
compie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-07-06, 18:47 UTC

[BUG] can't search for two directory names at once

Post by *compie »

If I search for directories named debug I get results.
If I search for directories named release I get results.

Now if I search for directories named "debug; release" (without the quotes) I get no results!
(Searching for "debug release" also doesn't work.

Am I doing something wrong or is this a bug? (I'm using TC 7.01).
Last edited by compie on 2008-02-26, 12:09 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Search for: debug. release.
Am I doing something wrong or is this a bug?
It's not a bug – it's TC.

(Besides that the semicolon of course doesn't make sense as a separator even in a normal file manager, because it's an allowed char in filenames...)

Icfu
This account is for sale
StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StatusQuo »

Thanks for this interesting solution/workaround, icfu.

BTW, a single dot after only one of the names would be enough, so these phrases also work (here): :shock:
debug. release
debug release.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!
compie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-07-06, 18:47 UTC

Post by *compie »

icfu wrote:Search for: debug. release.
Am I doing something wrong or is this a bug?
It's not a bug – it's TC.

(Besides that the semicolon of course doesn't make sense as a separator even in a normal file manager, because it's an allowed char in filenames...)

Icfu
I think the semicolon is a good separator. If you wish to search for it anyway it should be possible to escape it.
I consider this to be a bug in TC and I don't understand why including a point makes it work.
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Thanks for this interesting solution/workaround, icfu.
It's not a workaround, it's the way ghisler has designed the search to work. He has explained it here in detail (German):
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=78777#78777

As you can see, two years later the alternative searching styles have not been implemented unfortunately...

Icfu
This account is for sale
StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StatusQuo »

icfu wrote:He has explained it here in detail (German):
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=78777#78777
And once in english (a little shorter): http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=37806#37806
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!
compie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-07-06, 18:47 UTC

Post by *compie »

icfu wrote:Search for: debug. release.
Ok that works, but now I also would like to search for directories named "___win32_release".
Seraching for: "debug. release. ___win32_release." doesn't work!

Is this a bug? How can I work around this one?
User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 »

Use regular expressions.

Code: Select all

^(debug|release|___win32_release)$
Post Reply