Start menu item using /O /R=? opens left panel

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Cloudking
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-04-17, 10:38 UTC

Start menu item using /O /R=? opens left panel

Post by *Cloudking »

When I create a start menu item to open a path in the right panel, the directory opens in the left panel! (TC 6.53, TC 7.02a)

Steps to reproduce:
1) Change Start Menu, Add Item,
2) Use these settings:
Command = "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /R=
Parameters = ?
3) Press OK button
4) Select this menu item and enter c:\windows in the dialog box. This folder will be opened in the left panel. (instead of right)

NB: Please note that this command (with the /R option) does work when invoked from an ordinary command prompt.

(BTW: I use this option to open manually entered UNC paths in the TC window. Any other possibilities to do that?)
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Re: Start menu item using /O /R=? opens left panel

Post by *ts4242 »

Cloudking wrote:Steps to reproduce:
1) Change Start Menu, Add Item,
2) Use these settings:
Command = "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /R=
Parameters = ?
3) Press OK button
4) Select this menu item and enter c:\windows in the dialog box. This folder will be opened in the left panel. (instead of right)
Confirmed!

workaround: use this parameter

Code: Select all

?/O /R=
Cloudking wrote:(BTW: I use this option to open manually entered UNC paths in the TC window. Any other possibilities to do that?)
You can type cd path in the command line and press <Enter>
or add start menu item with these param

Code: Select all

Command: cd
Parameters: ?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This doesn't work. Why? TC adds a space between command and parameter, so what you get is actually
"C:\Program Files\Total Commander\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O /R= c:\userpath

As you can see, you pass "c:\userpath" for the source window, and nothing (empty string) for the target...
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Cloudking
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-04-17, 10:38 UTC

Post by *Cloudking »

My workaround is to create a simple batchfile containing the following command:
@"C:\Program Files\Total Commander\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O %1=%2

Via the start menu item parameters I pass in either '/L' or '/R' and for the second parameter the path that I wish to open.

I tick the 'Run minimized' button, so that you hardly notice the command window being opened. It's a bit dirty, but it does the trick.

Thanks.
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

Cloudking wrote:My workaround is to create a simple batchfile containing the following command:
@"C:\Program Files\Total Commander\TOTALCMD.EXE" /O %1=%2
cd is much faster!

There is another way to quickly open directory by typing the path in current directory (above the file list), no need for typing cd command
you can assign a hotkey to the internal command cm_EditPath to quickly start editing current directory field.
Cloudking
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-04-17, 10:38 UTC

Post by *Cloudking »

cd is much faster!
I would like to have two hotkeys; one for the source panel, and one for the target. Can I do that using cd (or any internal command?)
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

Cloudking wrote:I would like to have two hotkeys; one for the source panel, and one for the target. Can I do that using cd (or any internal command?)
No, cd always open the path in the active panel, but you can execute cm_Exchange after cd command
Post Reply