Cosmetical bugs with fields content

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1979
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Cosmetical bugs with fields content

Post by *fenix_productions »

Because I think these bugs are cosmetically only I've decided to put them all into one post.

1. New line problem.
If you specify new fields content in the way:

Code: Select all

[=plugin.field]\n[plugin.field2]
then you can observe that new line is visible for Win32 tooltips but for "Custom columns" - not. It is pretty clear why does it happen.
The things I would like to discuss are pre- and suffixes. It is not possible to get to work properly something like this:

Code: Select all

[=plugin.field]["\n"plugin.field2]
In that case you will see "\n" (without quotes). It is not treated as "give new line if [plugin.field2] value exists" for tooltips, why?

If some fields are empty the current solutions give me over-sized rectangles:

Code: Select all

Planet.mp3


Black Sabbath
or messed ones:

Code: Select all

Planet.mp3
Planet Caravan\nParanoid\nBlack Sabbath
Wouldn't it be nicer to see "\n" converted into new lines for pre- and suffixes?

2. Missing quotes

Editing fields contents using TC built-in procedures gives you no possibility to have quotes. If you write " it will disappear from configuration file. You can always use two signs (trying to walkaround this problem):

Code: Select all

""[plugin.field]""
TC will cut one from each side but if you forget about it one day it will be cut again.

IMHO it might be pretty once again tho allow its usage. Single " sign might work as starting / ending character or between fields. For prefixes \" should work like a charm.

Just trying to make TC prettier ;)
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

1. The \n makes no sense in custom columns or comments view, so it's converted to a space - this is intentional.

Adding a conditional new line sounds like a good idea, although it might cause new problems: In thumbnails view, TC needs to know from the beginning how many lines it needs to reserve for comments.

2. This is unfortunately a misfeature of the Windows programming interface for ini files - entries surrounded by double quotes are returned without these double quotes when using one of the ini file functions...
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1979
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *fenix_productions »

2ghisler(Author)

Ad.1. I don't think it is so important for thumbnails as for tooltips. For ThV you've got the same width/height for all items from the list (even if there are different files in one dir). Tips are little bit different because of dynamic change of content for hovered items. It simply cannot be predicted and that is why I've wanted to see it in tooltips only. For now I think that it should also be applied for "Overwrite" dialog (or maybe for that one too).

Ad.2. Then allow to use \" (or maybe other escape sequences like \t).
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099
Post Reply