auto linked icons with path including spaces don't work.

This forum contains bug reports from previous beta tests - the issue has remained unresolved, either because it couldn't be reproduced, or couldn't be prevented/fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
wallasaurus
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-08-29, 07:33 UTC

auto linked icons with path including spaces don't work.

Post by *wallasaurus »

3dsmax in my workplace is installed by IT dept. into default dir (C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk....)

max icons never appear in TC.

I had a brainwave to copy 3dsmax icons to c:\icons\ folder and reassociate in control panel. This caused the icons to appear in TC! wicked!

Messy solution though and i'd imagine this will act the same for anything which is installed in 'program files' directory. Whose idea was that space anyway! Everyone knows that underscore is the thinking man's space character! :D

maybe it can be fixed? if not I will cludge away and clutter my machine with more randome folders fo junk. :D

thanks for a great app though :)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39801
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Where are these icons stored by default? Maybe in some inaccessible 64-bit directory?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Post by *nemadeka »

Today I discovered that 7.04a is unable to find (ALt+F7) MS Word documents whose filenames include spaces, like:
ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc
Analysis_SC-VK480_second additional translation order.doc

Searching for
*REPORT_090225-004242*.doc
*SC-VK480*.doc
fixes the issue.

Windows XP Pro Russian SP3.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9702
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

2nemadeka

just put "" around the file name:
"ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc" - in stead of ANALYSIS REPORT_090225-004242_page 01-15.doc
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.987 (x64)
TC 3.01b6 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Post by *nemadeka »

Thanks, is this going to be changed?

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4564
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

nemadeka wrote:Thanks, is this going to be changed?
Hi, if this refers to the behaviour of the T.C. search dialogue, then the answer will be:
As can be told from this thread, Searching can't find existing files w. specific name , this behaviour has been changed / corrected in Total Commander v7.50 Public Beta 1. :)

Karl

nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Post by *nemadeka »

*This* refers to having to put the filename into double quotes.
Thanks for the tip!

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4564
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

nemadeka wrote:*This* refers to having to put the filename into double quotes.
Exactly. And inside the T.C. 7.50 PB1 search dialogue (alt+f7) you are no longer forced to enclose filenames in double quotes if they hold space characters. But you can do so.

Karl

Post Reply