[regression?] copying makes fragmented files
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
[regression?] copying makes fragmented files
I have a 1000GB new hard drive, no fragmentation (10% occupied), yet TC7.5 betas copy everything fragmented, however killcopy utility does not fragment (prealloc option enabled).
Options: Image: http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7061/tc75copyoptions.png
btw, does TC use uTorrent's ultrafast method of preallocation? the one that claims new disk space without filling it with zeroes...
Options: Image: http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7061/tc75copyoptions.png
btw, does TC use uTorrent's ultrafast method of preallocation? the one that claims new disk space without filling it with zeroes...
- Balderstrom
- Power Member
- Posts: 2148
- Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC
Sparse Files
"diskio.no_zero"
Which from what I gather, is a workaround to the NTFS' feature that compresses large 0000 datasets.
============
Fix: of the first link, that Clo inadvertently broke w/ %40 %41's
Aside: 3 email notifications for this thread, and they're all discussing my msdn link. *chuckle*
A file in which much of the data is zeros is said to contain a sparse data set.
Utorrent: Speed up file allocationThe file compression in the NTFS file system is a partial solution to the problem. All data in the file that is not explicitly written is explicitly set to zero. File compression compacts these ranges of zeros. However, a drawback of file compression is that access time may increase due to data compression and decompression.
In the latest version of utorrent, they've enabled the feature:When allocating large files uTorrent has to fill them with zeroes. That creates significant disk load and affects overall system performance. Windows XP provides a way to allocate files of any size almost instantly: SetFileValidData() function. It won't work without SE_MANAGE_VOLUME_NAME privilege (admin rights I guess) and with compressed files but I think it won't hurt anything in case of failure. Here is a link to small program that demonstrates this concept: http://depositfiles.com/files/8072561
"diskio.no_zero"
Which from what I gather, is a workaround to the NTFS' feature that compresses large 0000 datasets.
============
Fix: of the first link, that Clo inadvertently broke w/ %40 %41's

Aside: 3 email notifications for this thread, and they're all discussing my msdn link. *chuckle*
Last edited by Balderstrom on 2009-07-29, 01:01 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Link fixed
2Balderstrom
[mod]I fixed the link to “Sparse files” in order to make it clickable
Just needs to code the damned parenthesis beloved by M$…
Clo, moderator[/mod]
[mod]I fixed the link to “Sparse files” in order to make it clickable

Just needs to code the damned parenthesis beloved by M$…

Clo, moderator[/mod]
#31505 Traducteur Français de T•C French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
URL containing (VS.85)
2Clo,
small correction of your fix:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa365564%28VS.85%29.aspx
BTW: simply omitting the (VS.85)
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa365564.aspx
should work too.
Regards
Holger
small correction of your fix:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa365564%28VS.85%29.aspx
BTW: simply omitting the (VS.85)
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa365564.aspx
should work too.
Regards
Holger
Kept as is
2HolgerK
I know this, that occured already, but I kept the URL exactly like Balderstrom wrote it…
VG
Claude
Clo



Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de T•C French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50505
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
TC 7.5 now uses CopyFileEx for copying by default. I have no influence on how much it fragments or not. If you turn off the new default copy method, TC will use ReadFile/WriteFile again (which has other disadvantages), but in this case TC does pre-allocate the file space before copying the actual data.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com

- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50505
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Did you try to turn off the new default copy method (which uses CopyFileEx), as I suggested? The old method did preallocate the space, but CopyFileEx doesn't have such an option.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com