Plugin to send printfiles to printer "copy test.prn lpt

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Plugin to send printfiles to printer "copy test.prn lpt

Post by *Peter »

There are some tools around to send "printfiles / plotfiles / plot data" to the printer - like the old famous dos-command "copy test.plt /b lpt1". The best tools that I know can be found at www.noliturbare.com.

But: Is there a plugin for TC which handles this job?

Like
- select files
- press button
- set printer (one of the connected)
- copy files to printer ..

Any ideas?

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3893
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

Just create a button with this command:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
"%ComSpec%" /c copy
%P%N /b lpt1
%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD.EXE,2
.prn Datei drucken


-1
Simply copy the above code and paste it into your button bar

This will send the selected file to lpt1
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

This button will do the classical "single file - single printer" command.

But I am looking for
- selectable network printers
- select many files
- use the sort-feature of TC

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
klsgfx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2003-11-21, 14:40 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *klsgfx »

Perhaps PrintFile (http://www.lerup.com/printfile/) could be of any help for you?
Nice small tool which I used quite often in my former job.

You could try creating a button to https://plugins.ghisler.com/addons/lst2str.zip or https://plugins.ghisler.com/addons/lst2multi.zip using PrintFile. Just a quick idea, did not test it this way.

Could you please explain me
use the sort-feature of TC
? I do not understand.

Cheers
Klaus
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

klsgfx wrote:...Could you please explain me
use the sort-feature of TC
? I do not understand....
I mean that it is important to send the files exactly in an alphabetic order (from "a.prn - z.prn"), no matter how large or how old the print-files are.

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3893
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

- select many files
No matter which program you may use, just replace parameter %P%N by %s
- use the sort-feature of TC
%s will keep the TC sorting criteria
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

sqa_wizard wrote:
- select many files
No matter which program you may use, just replace parameter %P%N by %s
- use the sort-feature of TC
%s will keep the TC sorting criteria
Ok, thanks. But the criterium "select connected network printers" is still unsolved.

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
klsgfx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2003-11-21, 14:40 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *klsgfx »

To remember PrintFile:

I created a button like this:

Command: <path to>lst2str.exe
Parameter: /X:"<path to>PRFILE32.EXE" /L:%L /N:30 /C:2048
Startpath: <empty>

Using this button will pass a sorted list of the selected files to PrintFile and Printfile asks for the printer to be used.

And from the PrintFile readme.txt:
…the program can be seen as a Windows replacement for the DOS
command "copy/b filename LPTx" . As opposed to this DOS command,
PrintFile works well with network printers that have no connection to
any LPTx. This function is mainly intended for printing PostScript files
but may just as well be used for any file created by the "Print to
File" option available for most Windows printer driv…
I hope this helps.

Cheers
Klaus
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

klsgfx wrote:...Using this button will pass a sorted list of the selected files to PrintFile and Printfile asks for the printer to be used....
I will test in the next days and will report here.

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

Peter wrote:I will test in the next days and will report here.
Peter
Problems ...

My button is defined as:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\lst2str\lst2str.exe
/X:"%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\PrintFile\prfile32.exe" /L:%L /N:30 /C:2048
D:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE,24
Plotdateien versenden


-1
And I get an error-message:
You have not specified either /X: or /L: parameters, please add them and try again ...
???

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
nsp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1917
Joined: 2005-12-04, 08:39 UTC
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)
Contact:

Post by *nsp »

Peter,

Did you try standard TC command, using %P%S or %p%s (DOS Names) as prfile32.exe seems to only work well with full name ?

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA 
"%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\PrintFile\prfile32.exe"
%p%s
D:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE,24
Plotdateien versenden


-1
On my side, my networks printer are found and proposed.
User avatar
klsgfx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2003-11-21, 14:40 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *klsgfx »

Peter wrote:My button is defined as:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\lst2str\lst2str.exe
/X:"%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\PrintFile\prfile32.exe" /L:%L /N:30 /C:2048
D:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE,24
Plotdateien versenden


-1
And I get an error-message:
You have not specified either /X: or /L: parameters, please add them and try again ...
I am not sure, but TC-variables like %COMMANDER_PATH% are not supported in parameters (buttons, startmenues or user-defined commands) field.

At least I think I read so somewhere in the forum.

Cheers
Klaus
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

nsp wrote:...Did you try standard TC command, using %P%S or %p%s (DOS Names) as prfile32.exe seems to only work well with full name ?....
Yes, it works. :D
But only with one file :(
klsgfx wrote:...I am not sure, but TC-variables like %COMMANDER_PATH% are not supported in parameters (buttons, startmenues or user-defined commands) field....
Now I replaced the % with full-path - I get the same error-message of lst2str described above. :(

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
User avatar
klsgfx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2003-11-21, 14:40 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *klsgfx »

Peter wrote:Now I replaced the % with full-path - I get the same error-message of lst2str described above.
Hm.
My button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMMANDER_PATH%\tools\lst2str.exe
/X:"c:\tmp\test pfad\Sonderprogramme\PrintFile\PRFILE32.EXE" /L:%L /N:30 /C:2048
C:\tc\TOTALCMD.EXE,24
PrintFile


-1
compared to yours:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\lst2str\lst2str.exe
/X:"%COMMANDER_PATH%\Sonderprogramme\PrintFile\prfile32.exe" /L:%L /N:30 /C:2048
D:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE,24
Plotdateien versenden


-1
I can't see any markable difference.

So why is it working for me and not for Peter?
I ran out of ideas - sorry.

Klaus
User avatar
Peter
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2003-11-13, 13:40 UTC
Location: Schweiz

Post by *Peter »

How can I check the basic functionality of lst2str?

Peter
TC 10.xx / #266191
Win 10 x64
Post Reply