This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

7.57 & visualdirsize strange behavior

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krasusczak
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:38 pm    Post subject: 7.57 & visualdirsize strange behavior Reply with quote

Hi

When i press F3 on dir in version 7.56a i get info "no files selected"

In new beta's versions of 8 & 7.57 RC when you press F3 on dir we get information from visualdirsize about dir (cool thing) [if you have installed this plugin]

Unfortunately in final version 7.57 when yo press F3 behaviour from previously version back with information "no files selected"..

I thought that in final 7.57 - F3 will still open visualdirsize but no, is this a bug/withdrawn change or maybe something else?
Maybe final version 8 will be with this function?


Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umbra
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 765

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since 7.57 is just a bugfix release, it is not supposed to bring new features. Those you will find in TC 8.0.
Also if you check HISTORY.TXT, you will find this entry:
Quote:
21.02.12 Fixed: Removed code trying to show directories in F3 (was only partially backported to TC 7.57 and didn't work properly)

So yes, it was removed intentionally because it was causing some troubles. And yes, it looks like this feature will be in 8.0 final.
BTW, you can get some basic info about a directory even without plugins.
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
krasusczak
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK my mistake i didn't check history file.

Believe i know that i can check info about dir in many ways but it doesn't change fact that in visualdirsize it looks better..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can still use Ctrl+Q (quick view panel) in TC 7.57. I removed it because it's a new feature, and it didn't work properly (e.g. when there was no plugin, an error was shown).
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group