
Files as attachm. via context menu (Send to) no longer works
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
Files as attachm. via context menu (Send to) no longer works
I'm running TC 8.0 RC 2 under Win7 32-bit with Office/Outlook 2010 Professional Plus 2010 (... most recent fixes applied) and sending files as attachements via context menu (Send to) no longer works. No problem with "vanilla" Windows Explorer. Context menu opens properly but neither by right click nor by shift + F10 a new email opens and file will be attached .... no error msg - nothing happens.


Hello, DoobieB.
Just tried it here. No problem. Total Commander 8.0rc2 32-bit => Sendto => E-Mail Recipient works as expected. Outlook 2010 opens. The selected file has been attached.
Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 32-bit
Office 2010 SP1
Outlook 2010
Total Commander 8.0rc2
Cheers,
Karl
Just tried it here. No problem. Total Commander 8.0rc2 32-bit => Sendto => E-Mail Recipient works as expected. Outlook 2010 opens. The selected file has been attached.
Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 32-bit
Office 2010 SP1
Outlook 2010
Total Commander 8.0rc2
Cheers,
Karl
MX Linux 21.3 64-bit xfce, Total Commander 11.50 64-bit
The people of Alderaan keep on bravely fighting back the clone warriors sent out by the unscrupulous Sith Lord Palpatine.
The Prophet's Song
The people of Alderaan keep on bravely fighting back the clone warriors sent out by the unscrupulous Sith Lord Palpatine.
The Prophet's Song
Confirmed (TC8.0RC2 x64/x86, Win7 x64, Office2010 x86, all updates applied)
But : only under the condition that TC runs elevated (as administrator).
<Edit>
BTW: This seems to be a general problem of "send to" because an elevated Explorer fails as well.
Oops,sorry: after trying a second time, elevated Explorer seems to work correct.
</Edit>
<Edit2>
Same effect with ThunderBird 12.01. So it's not an Office specific problem.
</Edit2>
Regards
Holger
But : only under the condition that TC runs elevated (as administrator).
<Edit>
BTW: This seems to be a general problem of "send to" because an elevated Explorer fails as well.
Oops,sorry: after trying a second time, elevated Explorer seems to work correct.
</Edit>
<Edit2>
Same effect with ThunderBird 12.01. So it's not an Office specific problem.
</Edit2>
Regards
Holger
Works fine here with TC 8.0RC2 on Windows XP (32bit TC) and Windows 7 (32bit and 64bit TC).
All tests with Mozilla SeaMonkey as email client, both when Seamonkey is already running, and when it is not.
I an NOT running TC elevated, but I am running Windows as administrator.
All tests with Mozilla SeaMonkey as email client, both when Seamonkey is already running, and when it is not.
I an NOT running TC elevated, but I am running Windows as administrator.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Hello, DoobieB.
I assume that the factor which HolgerK has reported may be one possible source of trouble: Outlook and Total Commander having different security contexts, most likely T.C. being run elevated "as administrator", but Outlook being run non-elevated. (Unless UAC has been switched off completely this may happen, even though your user account is named "Administrator". The name "Administrator" does not imply you are doing anything in elevated mode automatically. "Administrator" is just a name.)
Kind regards,
Karl
Does not matter here. In case Outlook is not running it will be launched and closed after sending the mail. In case Outlook had been started before a new e-mail window will be opened instead and after sending the e-mail only this window will be closed, but Outlook will be still open.you're saying"... Outlook 2010 opens. The selected file has been attached.". It's only working for me when Outlook is not up and running. If it's already running it doesn't work.
I assume that the factor which HolgerK has reported may be one possible source of trouble: Outlook and Total Commander having different security contexts, most likely T.C. being run elevated "as administrator", but Outlook being run non-elevated. (Unless UAC has been switched off completely this may happen, even though your user account is named "Administrator". The name "Administrator" does not imply you are doing anything in elevated mode automatically. "Administrator" is just a name.)
Kind regards,
Karl
MX Linux 21.3 64-bit xfce, Total Commander 11.50 64-bit
The people of Alderaan keep on bravely fighting back the clone warriors sent out by the unscrupulous Sith Lord Palpatine.
The Prophet's Song
The people of Alderaan keep on bravely fighting back the clone warriors sent out by the unscrupulous Sith Lord Palpatine.
The Prophet's Song
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I also think that this is the problem. Windows blocks the communication between a program with normal rights and one with higher rights.Outlook and Total Commander having different security contexts, most likely T.C. being run elevated "as administrator", but Outlook being run non-elevated.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
There is a way to enable communication with lower privileged processes. I've found a description of enabling drag&drop somewhere in the internet and I created the following piece of code:
Regards
Code: Select all
procedure DragDropInit(Wnd : HWND = 0);
const
WM_COPYGLOBALDATA = $0049;
MSGFLT_ADD = 1;
MSGFLT_ALLOW = 1;
var
ChangeWindowMessageFilter : function(message : UINT; dwFlag : DWORD) : BOOL; stdcall;
ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx : function(hWnd : HWND; message : UINT; action : DWORD; pChangeFilterStruct : Pointer) : BOOL; stdcall;
begin
@ChangeWindowMessageFilter:=GetProcAddress(GetModuleHandle(user32),'ChangeWindowMessageFilter');
@ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx:=GetProcAddress(GetModuleHandle(user32),'ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx');
if Assigned(ChangeWindowMessageFilter) then
if (Wnd <> 0) and Assigned(ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx) then
begin
if not ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx(Wnd,WM_DROPFILES,MSGFLT_ALLOW,nil) then
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_DROPFILES,MSGFLT_ADD);
if not ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx(Wnd,WM_COPYDATA,MSGFLT_ALLOW,nil) then
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_COPYDATA,MSGFLT_ADD);
if not ChangeWindowMessageFilterEx(Wnd,WM_COPYGLOBALDATA,MSGFLT_ALLOW,nil) then
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_COPYGLOBALDATA,MSGFLT_ADD);
end else
begin
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_DROPFILES,MSGFLT_ADD);
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_COPYDATA,MSGFLT_ADD);
ChangeWindowMessageFilter(WM_COPYGLOBALDATA,MSGFLT_ADD);
end;
end;
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Wow, that's nice! Unfortunately I haven't seen this before. Is there any overview of new Windows Vista/7 functions anywhere?
Anyway, I will try to add it to the next version of TC (probably 8.1).
Anyway, I will try to add it to the next version of TC (probably 8.1).
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
I suppose that the easiest way to obtain a full list of new API functions is to download Visual Studio 2010 Express (it's free). There is a lot of *.h files there (the most important is "WinUser.h") - new Vista functions are surrounded by "#if(_WIN32_WINNT >= 0x0600)" or "#if(_WIN32_WINNT >= 0x0601)".
Regards!
Regards!
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Thanks for the suggestion. Moving thread to suggestions forum.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com