This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

stupid bug in drag'n'drop but also exists on windows !

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Michael REMY
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 193
Location: Amiens

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:03 am    Post subject: stupid bug in drag'n'drop but also exists on windows ! Reply with quote

hi !

i just had a stupid bug :

i have a big file of 1.8GB and only 500Mb of free on my disk.
i want to move it into the myvideo folder (same disk and partition as my file).
so i do it by drag'n'drop and.......total commander and also windows, told me that i have not enough space on my disk !

so, as windows does it too, i guess TC got this error from windows and that was not a real bug.....

so, what a stupid buf from windows ! i can't believe it doesn't understand that i have this place for move the file ! it is not a copy operation !

what a day !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 627
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Michael REMY
More info, please! Win.Ver., TC Ver., etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael REMY
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 193
Location: Amiens

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxX wrote:
2Michael REMY
More info, please! Win.Ver., TC Ver., etc...


sorry, i thought this system bug was obvious in all system.

i have win7 x64 sp1 updated.
and tc 7.57a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 627
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's about normal moving via F6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael REMY
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 193
Location: Amiens

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxX wrote:
what's about normal moving via F6?


well, by pressing F6 keys, it moves well ! Thanks for the tips !
so i guess the drag'n'drop operation is not the same like the F6 button !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 627
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Michael REMY
Watch on cursor -> Is there small "+" (means "copy") near it or not?
As I remember, default action is copying (so that's why you can't "move" your file -> you're copying it), and the only way to make d'n'd operation "move" file instead of "copy" is to press Shift before releasing left-mouse and then release it.
Or, just try d'n'd with RMB instead of LMB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows Explorer drag behaviour: copy between different drives (by letters, ignores reparse points), move within the same one. Shift+drag always moves, Ctrl+drag always copies.
TC drag behaviour: always copy. Hold Shift or RMB while dragging to move.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Michael REMY
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 193
Location: Amiens

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i assure you when i d'n'g using right button i choose MOVE in the popup mennu (that appeat when i release the right button), so i do not do a copy, but a move action (tc and windows).

but problem is solve because the f6 solve it!
_________________
i'm an old long user of TC since the windows 3.11 release !, for the history, i came to tc when i migrate from amiga commodore to PC where they are diskmanager and directory opus there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryanharris
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks a lot guys f6 worked for me Smile
gastric bypass surgery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group