[WFX] Android ADB 8.8

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

hamiltonlv wrote:shell@android:/ $ adb push localfile remotefile
adb push localfile remotefile
error: device not found
1|shell@android:/ $
:(
The adb tool is a command line tool that was developed by Google for Android developers. It is not on Android but on your PC and can be found in:

TotalCmd\plugins\wfx\ADB\bin

Then you run it as

adb push <anylocalfile> <destinationfile>

Where the localfile must exist on your PC and destination is the path you want to place the file to on your device.

It will fail 99% and will only prove copying to extSdCard does not work by default.

If you root your device it would work of course because the plugin would use the busybox tool to bypass the ROM permissions.
hamiltonlv
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-11-16, 13:50 UTC

Post by *hamiltonlv »

Thanks for the advice.

P.S. Also use MediaAudio2
tobbbie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2009-11-22, 18:47 UTC

Change file properties or create links possible?

Post by *tobbbie »

I wonder if changing a file's properties was possible with ADB; so changing the attributes, timestamp and especially the attributes?
Contextmenu -> properties does not show these and no possiblity to change anything either.

Another thing that would come handy is to create and maintain links on filesystem level in the device.
Not sure how that could easily done on the GUI but possibly with both sides ADB active?
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Re: Change file properties or create links possible?

Post by *jakubklos »

tobbbie wrote:I wonder if changing a file's properties was possible with ADB; so changing the attributes, timestamp and especially the attributes?
Contextmenu -> properties does not show these and no possiblity to change anything either.

Another thing that would come handy is to create and maintain links on filesystem level in the device.
Not sure how that could easily done on the GUI but possibly with both sides ADB active?
The first is quite possible. Just use the TC menu - File attributes. Works a treat.

The second you need to do with the "cp" command just like in unix/linux
tobbbie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2009-11-22, 18:47 UTC

Re: Change file properties or create links possible?

Post by *tobbbie »

jakubklos wrote:
tobbbie wrote:I wonder if changing a file's properties was possible with ADB; so changing the attributes, timestamp and especially the attributes?
Contextmenu -> properties does not show these and no possiblity to change anything either.

Another thing that would come handy is to create and maintain links on filesystem level in the device.
Not sure how that could easily done on the GUI but possibly with both sides ADB active?
The first is quite possible. Just use the TC menu - File attributes. Works a treat.

The second you need to do with the "cp" command just like in unix/linux
Thanks for the hint with the attributes from the menu - I was using the context menu and this did not deliver the attributes. The second case for "cp" - can I access this with some menu and utilise the "other side" in TC for the target?
A use case could be to move/link directories from \data\data\<app>\purpose to sd card. This is a 2-step process but would be convenient for those with low internal memory devices. Of course you would need to know what that action means :-)
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Re: Change file properties or create links possible?

Post by *jakubklos »

tobbbie wrote:
jakubklos wrote:
tobbbie wrote:I wonder if changing a file's properties was possible with ADB; so changing the attributes, timestamp and especially the attributes?
Contextmenu -> properties does not show these and no possiblity to change anything either.

Another thing that would come handy is to create and maintain links on filesystem level in the device.
Not sure how that could easily done on the GUI but possibly with both sides ADB active?
The first is quite possible. Just use the TC menu - File attributes. Works a treat.

The second you need to do with the "cp" command just like in unix/linux
Thanks for the hint with the attributes from the menu - I was using the context menu and this did not deliver the attributes. The second case for "cp" - can I access this with some menu and utilise the "other side" in TC for the target?
A use case could be to move/link directories from \data\data\<app>\purpose to sd card. This is a 2-step process but would be convenient for those with low internal memory devices. Of course you would need to know what that action means :-)
I meant the "ln" command in shell:
http://help.hardhathosting.com/question.php/95
tobbbie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2009-11-22, 18:47 UTC

Post by *tobbbie »

I know I can always go to (s)hell :-)

What I was thinking of was to realize the function to link a file or directory into another directory via the TC panels. So you mark the files/directories in one ADB panel and the other ADM panel just shows the target. So it would be like a copy or move action - but just a "link" action.

The macro-use case for me was to first move the "\data\data\<app>\purpose" directory to \sdext\data\<app>\purpose and then link the moved "purpose" directory to the previous parent directory \data\data\<app>\ there. Basically what some apps do on the device but under external control.

ADBs part would be here to make the "link" easy to achieve (and just not via shell).
cafondre
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-12-04, 11:35 UTC

Post by *cafondre »

jakubklos wrote:I don't think I can execute a script when the device is disconnected. You would need to deal with this on the device itself (Tasker probably). All I am suggesting is a list of custom scripts that would be accessible in
.scripts/
And you would simply execute them. These scripts would be created in the Options of the plugin and would be available on all the devices... Let me know
Hi,

No problem! My suggestion is for executing scripts in the host PC (for disable the forwarding) when the device is disconnected. Nevertheless, your idea of a global ".script" directory is sufficient for me.
When you'll implement this?

Another tip: I don't know how to use "autocomplete" (with <TAB> key) in the SHELL. At time, I use PUTTY and SSHDroid for this task. You have any comment?

Regards!
cafondre
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-12-04, 11:35 UTC

Post by *cafondre »

Hi jakubklos,

TOTALCMD.NET is down!

Please, post your last release in another server.

Thank you!
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

cafondre wrote:Hi jakubklos,

TOTALCMD.NET is down!

Please, post your last release in another server.

Thank you!
Thank you,
I have added a mirror to the first post.
BobGo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-26, 14:59 UTC

File Sync

Post by *BobGo »

Sorry to say, but "synchronize directories" is still not working in V4.9. :(

No matter which combination I set with busybox or local timezone. If I use correct settings, the displayed dates/times are correct (but with exaclty 1 hour offset displayed), but the syncing marks always all of them, except when the time matches exactly :(

Nevertheless, I love your plugin, since as they changed to MTP, this is the only way to get access with TC!!! Correcting myself: the wpdplug does similar, but dirsync is also not working due to the date problem..
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Re: File Sync

Post by *jakubklos »

BobGo wrote:Sorry to say, but "synchronize directories" is still not working in V4.9. :(

No matter which combination I set with busybox or local timezone. If I use correct settings, the displayed dates/times are correct (but with exaclty 1 hour offset displayed), but the syncing marks always all of them, except when the time matches exactly :(

Nevertheless, I love your plugin, since as they changed to MTP, this is the only way to get access with TC!!! Correcting myself: the wpdplug does similar, but dirsync is also not working due to the date problem..
I will test again when I return from my vacation. I am sure it can be tweaked to have this working. I could post some screenshots as I remember it was really working. Maybe you could contact me by email and we could finish it together and post the results when solved. I am coming back on Wed.
BobGo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-02-26, 14:59 UTC

Re: File Sync

Post by *BobGo »

jakubklos wrote:
BobGo wrote:Sorry to say, but "synchronize directories" is still not working in V4.9. :(

No matter which combination I set with busybox or local timezone. If I use correct settings, the displayed dates/times are correct (but with exaclty 1 hour offset displayed), but the syncing marks always all of them, except when the time matches exactly :(

Nevertheless, I love your plugin, since as they changed to MTP, this is the only way to get access with TC!!! Correcting myself: the wpdplug does similar, but dirsync is also not working due to the date problem..
I will test again when I return from my vacation. I am sure it can be tweaked to have this working. I could post some screenshots as I remember it was really working. Maybe you could contact me by email and we could finish it together and post the results when solved. I am coming back on Wed.
Happy vecation!! It's not x-mas yet?!?
Basically a good idea if I would have your email address.. ;)
BTW: when testing on different machines I recognized something else: When I install your plugin only, the android dir is shown unix like. But when I afterwards "launch" Christians wdp plugin, the dir view with your plugin changes also to pc like view?! Also Chris's plugin has the same problem with getting localized dates..
Bob
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Re: File Sync

Post by *jakubklos »

BobGo wrote:
jakubklos wrote:
BobGo wrote:Sorry to say, but "synchronize directories" is still not working in V4.9. :(

No matter which combination I set with busybox or local timezone. If I use correct settings, the displayed dates/times are correct (but with exaclty 1 hour offset displayed), but the syncing marks always all of them, except when the time matches exactly :(

Nevertheless, I love your plugin, since as they changed to MTP, this is the only way to get access with TC!!! Correcting myself: the wpdplug does similar, but dirsync is also not working due to the date problem..
I will test again when I return from my vacation. I am sure it can be tweaked to have this working. I could post some screenshots as I remember it was really working. Maybe you could contact me by email and we could finish it together and post the results when solved. I am coming back on Wed.
Happy vecation!! It's not x-mas yet?!?
Basically a good idea if I would have your email address.. ;)
BTW: when testing on different machines I recognized something else: When I install your plugin only, the android dir is shown unix like. But when I afterwards "launch" Christians wdp plugin, the dir view with your plugin changes also to pc like view?! Also Chris's plugin has the same problem with getting localized dates..
Bob
I didn't realize this forum had private messages disabled... The email is jakub at icewarp dot com.
The_Steph
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2012-08-01, 12:49 UTC

Post by *The_Steph »

jakubklos,

I have a strange error. Sometimes, when I copy some files, their names are truncated. Fortunately, when it happens on a file, it is consistent, I can recreate the issue as many times as I want. I tried to find some special characters in the name to see if it the cause of the issue but it is not! I can' find a consistent reason.

How can I provide useful information for you to analyse the issue?

Best regards.
The_Steph
Post Reply