SFTPPlug: Error message when I try to enable SSL/TLS- SOLVED

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

SFTPPlug: Error message when I try to enable SSL/TLS- SOLVED

Post by *MarkFilipak »

===== BEGIN SOLUTION =====

Trying to get the new version of SFTP working?

Solution:
Here's the files you need:
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libeay32.dll
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libssh2.dll

Do this:
  • click on 'Network Neighborhood' (aka "My Network Places"), then
  • click on 'Secure FTP', then
  • push the F7 key (Opens "New folder" dialog), then
  • in the drop-down list, replace "_F7=new connection" with a name of your choosing, then
  • click [OK] (Opens "Connect to SFTP Server" dialog).
Fill in the "Connect to SFTP Server" dialog, then
  • click [OK].
The newly named SFTP connection will appear and you will connect.


===== BEGIN ORIGINAL POST =====

Total Commander 8.0 32 bit (2012-05-23)
Windows XP Professional

Hello,

ATTEMPT #1
----------
It's been about a year since I last used SFTP. My WFX & SSH library files were:

Code: Select all

c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\sftpplug.wfx   // (no version), 200,704 bytes, May 19, 2010
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libeay32.dll   // (no version), 1,546,364 bytes, Jun 23, 2010
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libssh2.dll    // version 1.2.7

When I tried to [x] the 'SSL/TLS' option in the "FTP:connection details" dialog I get
"OpenSSL library not found!"
"To use SSL connections, please download the OpenSSL DLLs from the Internet and put them in the Total Commander directory!"
ATTEMPT #2
----------
So I copied the SSL library files to

Code: Select all

c:\totalcmd\libeay32.dll
c:\totalcmd\libssh2.dll
FTPS still didn't work.

ATTEMPT #3
----------
Next I updated as follows:

Code: Select all

c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\sftpplug.wfx   // (no version), 225,280 bytes, Mar 4, 2013
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libeay32.dll   // version 1.0.0.11
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libssh2.dll    // version 1.4.3.0
c:\totalcmd\libeay32.dll                        // version 1.0.0.11
c:\totalcmd\libssh2.dll                         // version 1.4.3.0
Still no joy.

ATTEMPT #4
----------
Next I tried copying zlib1.dll to:

Code: Select all

c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\zlib1.dll      // version 1.2.7.0
c:\totalcmd\zlib1.dll                           // version 1.2.7.0
Still no joy.
When I try to [x] the 'SSL/TLS' option in the "FTP:connection details" dialog I get
"OpenSSL library not found!"
"To use SSL connections, please download the OpenSSL DLLs from the Internet and put them in the Total Commander directory!"
Help! I really need to FTP to my server and I wouldn't want to have to step back to Tunnelier.

Thanks for your help,
Mark.

PS: I should add that if I try to FTP to my server - it expects SFTP - the connection fails on a time out. - M.
Last edited by MarkFilipak on 2013-06-17, 21:47 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

I think you're mixing things up here. You state that your server is running SFTP but you're trying to connect via FTPS. Those are completely different protocols.

The SFTP plugin is located under "Network Neighborhood" like the other FS-plugins.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

You are missing one dll: ssleay32.dll
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Post by *MarkFilipak »

Clarifications:

My 1st listed setup:

Code: Select all

c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\sftpplug.wfx   // (no version), 200,704 bytes, May 19, 2010
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libeay32.dll   // (no version), 1,546,364 bytes, Jun 23, 2010
c:\totalcmd\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\libssh2.dll    // version 1.2.7
used to work.

My server runs SSH FTP, that is SFTP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Transfer_Protocol#SFTP). I can launch the SSH session using Tunnelier or Total Commander.
ZoSTeR wrote:...you're trying to connect via FTPS
Am I?
ghisler wrote:You are missing one dll: ssleay32.dll
'sftpplug.zip\readme.txt' wrote:This plugin needs the dlls libeay32.dll and libssh2.dll
Christian, would you kindly list what '.DLL's I need and where they should be installed? You might consider correcting 'sftpplug.zip\readme.txt'.

There appear to be 3 methods: FTPS, SFTP, and FTP over SSH. Which does sftpplug use?

Thanks!
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3893
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

Christian, would you kindly list what '.DLL's I need and where they should be installed?
see his advice at the main sftpplug thread

The sftp plugin is located at Network Neighborhood named "Secure FTP"
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

You are trying to run FTP over SSL/TLS aka FTPS via the internal FTP client. That causes the error message.

Your SFTP plugin is probably correctly installed but you have to use via "network neighborhood". The two are not related in any way.

Edit: sga_wizard was faster ;)
User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Post by *MarkFilipak »

I use a custom menu of my own design. In it, I connect via 'cm_FtpConnect'. That used to work! I could connect to my server (and other servers) using what I thought was SFTP.

Via Network Neighborhood, eh? How?

...Well!! I stumbled along and got it to work.

Hahahahahahaha... This has to be the strangest user-interface I've ever seen.

Case closed. Christian: 'ssleay32.dll' was not needed.

Thanks for your help, guys! - Mark.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Post by *MarkFilipak »

I put the solution at the head of the original post. - Mark
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5785
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

MarkFilipak wrote:'ssleay32.dll' was not needed.[/b]
But zlib1.dll is needed if you use a recent version of the libcurl library.
User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Post by *MarkFilipak »

white wrote:But zlib1.dll is needed if you use a recent version of the libcurl library.
Nope. I'm using the latest sftpplug and the latest libcurl. zlib1.dll is not installed and my SFTP is working fine.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5785
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white »

MarkFilipak wrote:Nope. I'm using the latest sftpplug and the latest libcurl. zlib1.dll is not installed and my SFTP is working fine.
It is needed on my system. If I rename "zlib1.dll" it stops working. Maybe you have "zlib1.dll" or older versions of the other dlls somewhere and it is used by Total Commander.
Post Reply