TC on NTFS filename case sensitive

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Alcolo47
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-04-24, 06:31 UTC

TC on NTFS filename case sensitive

Post by *Alcolo47 »

On an NTFS file system configured with:
HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\kernel\obcaseinsensitive=0

(see https://cygwin.com/cygwin-ug-net/using-specialnames.html "Case sensitive filenames")

- When I want copy a file "a" where a file "A" exists, TC detect a collision.

[EDIT]
[WRONG] - If folder "f" and "F" exist, only one is displayed.
- If folder "f" and "F" exist, both give the same contents.
[EDIT]

TC Version: 8.51a x64
Last edited by Alcolo47 on 2014-08-29, 07:31 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6975
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Sorry I worked for large Companies which made havy use of Cygwin but we never came to that strange idea.
Its still Windows and you get in a lot of troubles with such a setting,
for example with missing files in backups and other funny things.
I guess Christion will never try to support such seetings as normal Windows APIs dont support it.
User avatar
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1158
Joined: 2012-02-02, 19:23 UTC

Post by *milo1012 »

Horst.Epp wrote:as normal Windows APIs dont support it.
Indeed.
A simple search finds an interesting article about that setting.

Windows is case-insensitive, and will probably be like that for the next years.
Such features like the mentioned registry settings are special cases, and I don't think you can expect any support for it.
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Alcolo47
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-04-24, 06:31 UTC

Post by *Alcolo47 »

It still a possible configuration of windows.

It's a normal windows feature: useful for unix world interaction (with cygwin for instance), but it still a 100% Microsoft windows feature.

To support it, it's not very difficult: just call NtOpenSymbolicLinkObject(“\SYSTEMROOT”) to know if the system is case sensitive or not. (see milo1012 article)

PS:
With both 'd' and 'D' directories, windows explorer have the same bug: be better than windows :)
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8711
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

It would require to call unofficial kernel function (I don't think reqular apps should do it) and to modify all case-insensitive code (and it is much bigger problem)... Even Explorer doesn't see any sense in having both 'd' and 'D' directories in one folder. Just like any other pure-Windows program.
Alcolo47
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-04-24, 06:31 UTC

Post by *Alcolo47 »

MVV wrote:It would require to call unofficial kernel function
Non official ? http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb470234%28v=vs.85%29.aspx

You can object me: [This function may be altered or unavailable in the future.]
But enclose code into windows version control, api availabity check ...
MVV wrote:Even Explorer doesn't see any sense in having both 'd' and 'D' directories in one folder. Just like any other pure-Windows program.
No, it just Windows (another) bug! I didn't think of this earlier, I will fight against microsoft with this.
User avatar
HolgerK
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5410
Joined: 2006-01-26, 22:15 UTC
Location: Europe, Aachen

Post by *HolgerK »

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh529126%28v=vs.85%29.aspx wrote:This section of the Library contains archived articles. Some articles cover deprecated or superseded technologies, and some cover niche subject areas that you may still find interesting.
Regards
Holger
Post Reply