How-to use wincmd.ini form TC folder (portable USB mode)?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
AnthonyCian
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 2005-06-16, 01:45 UTC
Location: Thatcher Az. USA

How-to use wincmd.ini form TC folder (portable USB mode)?

Post by *AnthonyCian » 2015-02-05, 20:17 UTC

After my computer was replaced with another. TC was transferred over to the new computer based on my network profile. It didn't really do a good job of it, because TC was not listed in the Control Panel Programs Uninstall list. Plus I originally had the wincmd.ini active in the total commander root folder. However the transfer now has it going here:
c:\Users\MYNAME\AppData\Roaming\GHISLER\wincmd.ini

I installed TC using the update route because I didn't want to loose all my years worth of settings. And it wasn't a true update, just trying to get the above ini file back in the root of TC. It didn't work, but the good thing, TC does now show in the uninstall list.

Whew, so how can I get the wincmd.ini back working in the root of TC commander folder? I am setup as a user, so admin rights would have to be involved if un/re-installing is required.

Thanks,

Anthony

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2672
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

FAQs: Total Commander is fully portable / UseIniInProgramDir=7

Post by *Stefan2 » 2015-02-05, 20:41 UTC

Use wincmd.ini in the root of TC folder with UseIniInProgramDir=7
AnthonyCian wrote:Plus I originally had the wincmd.ini active in the total commander root folder. However the transfer now has it going here:
c:\Users\MYNAME\AppData\Roaming\GHISLER\wincmd.ini
Do you have write access to the TC folder? Try creating a file there in.
so how can I get the wincmd.ini back working in the root of TC commander folder?
Add to wincmd.ini
[Configuration]
UseIniInProgramDir=7
See TC Help > Settings in the file wincmd.ini (Part 1)

- - -

Total Commander is fully portable

The main steps to do this are
-- adding [Configuration] UseIniInProgramDir=7 to wincmd.ini and save that INI in TC-folder
(you can check in "Help - About TC" where the INI is currently located)

-- and using %Commander_Path% everywhere in your wincmd.ini
(See http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php/Navigation >> Pseudo environment variables)


Step by step:

1. Install TC or just unpack the setup (Rename .exe to .zip and unpack and then extract the install.cab)
(Note: inside TC you can just use Strg+PageDown key to open an archive, or use e.g. 7-zip)
Rename the so created Install folder to e.g. TotalCmd. Done!

- - -
Instead of step 2 and 3
Show
Instead of step 2 and 3 you can just create a text file in that dir, as text add two lines:
[Configuration]
UseIniInProgramDir=7

and then save as wincmd.ini. Done.
On first start the file wcx_ftp.ini is created too.
- - -

2. Start TC one time to create the ini files
(or, if you have already an used TC, just perform the next line and move the files),
and then move the files wincmd.ini and wcx_ftp.ini
(you can check in "Help - About TC" where they are located)
to the same directory of the TOTALCMD.EXE
See TC Help > Settings in the file wincmd.ini (Part 1)

3. Open wincmd.ini and add the following under [Configuration]:
UseIniInProgramDir=7
Now TC use the ini found near the TOTALCMD.EXE.

Example wincmd.ini:
[Configuration]
UseIniInProgramDir=7 ;7=nimm diese INI im TC-Programmordner
InplaceRenamePath=1 ;1=Pfad wechseln per Klick auf den Pfad in der Pfadzeile
SpaceMovesDown=1 ;1=Auswahl per SPACE-Taste, dann springe eine Datei weiter nach unten
DirBrackets=0 ;0=no [..] around directory names
InplaceOkButton=1 ;2=Bestätigungsschaltfläche Links ; 1=Rechts



You can delete “InstallDir=xxx” if existent.
You can also search the registry HKLM and HKCU Software folder for Ghisler and delete that entries.


4. If you had configured your TC already, then replace all absolute path in wincmd.ini like
X:\my\path\to\TotalCommander\plugins\wdx\DirSizeCalc\DirSizeCalc.wdx
with a relative path using %Commander_Path% variable
"%Commander_Path%\plugins\wdx\DirSizeCalc\DirSizeCalc.wdx"

Be sure to use from now on always %Commander_Path% to point to your TC home folder.
Some examples:
[Configuration]
Viewer=X:\my\path\to\TotalCommander\TOOLs\Viewer\Viewer.exe
Viewer="%Commander_Path%\TOOLs\Viewer\Viewer.exe"

Editor=X:\my\path\to\TotalCommander\TOOLs\NotePad2\notepad2.exe
Editor="%Commander_Path%\TOOLs\NotePad2\notepad2.exe"

Note, that would also work:
Viewer=TOOLs\Viewer\Viewer.exe
Editor=TOOLs\NotePad2\notepad2.exe


pluginbasedir=X:\my\path\to\TotalCommander\plugins
pluginbasedir="%Commander_Path%\plugins"

[ContentPlugins]
10=X:\my\path\to\TotalCommander\plugins\wdx\DirSizeCalc\DirSizeCalc.wdx
10="%Commander_Path%\plugins\wdx\DirSizeCalc\DirSizeCalc.wdx"
[PackerPlugins]
[FileSystemPlugins]

[Buttonbar]
Buttonbar="%Commander_Path%\DEFAULT.BAR"

[Packer]
RAR="%Commander_Path%\TOOLs\Packer\rar.exe"

Check the [user] section too, if existent.


Tip,
Best have your needed tools in a sub folder of the TC folder
If your tools are not located beneath the TC folder,
you can build relative paths in other ways too like:
CompareTool=%Commander_Path%\..\WinMerge\WinMergePortable.exe
(means: go one folder up, out of TC folder, and into WinMerge folder)

Since TC v7 you can also use %COMMANDER_DRIVE% variable.
See http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php/Navigation

5. Save the wincmd.ini and launch TC, check if everything is working.

Now you can copy the whole TC folder to other PCs or to your Thump Drive.



 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8410
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2015-02-05, 20:41 UTC

This is default INI location. If you have INI in TC dir, you need to add a key to it:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
UseIniInProgramDir=7
This will override any defaults and registry settings.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6779
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-02-05, 20:43 UTC

You can also use IniReloc which is available on TC homepage.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
AnthonyCian
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 2005-06-16, 01:45 UTC
Location: Thatcher Az. USA

Post by *AnthonyCian » 2015-02-05, 21:24 UTC

Thanks everyone, this worked when I added as suggested.
UseIniInProgramDir=7

Anthony

Post Reply