This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please create videos (or screenshots) of bugs when possible!
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 1933
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Clo

I also agree. Image support would indeed be a very useful addition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 700
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First I thank Hacker for the Camstudio tip!
I've searching already a while for such an opensource tool, to derive short educational 'zapshots' from the screen.

I agree with Clo about the size limits of images on a forum page and the boring aspect of a H. scroll bar.
His proposed width of about 700 is a fair one, because at the left, space is used for the avatars, etc.
The height should be restricted as well, because for some users with a small bandwidth, it would be boring too
to wait for the forum-thread to be downloaded completely.

As Stitscher noted, there are PHP scripts to execute these limits on the incoming images.
But often this is just a resizing routine, which is, graphically seen, a clumsy method with low-quality results.
Of course the sender can take this quality loss for granted, but I'm afraid that a single resize operation from
3000 to 700 would make a lot of text on the screenshot possibly quite unreadable.

So it would be better to advise the members to prepare the image first to a smaller size with a graphical editor (like IV),
before posting it. And I like to emphasize with Clo about using the PNG format.
Most system screenshots contain only a limited number of colours, and this is implemented in the conversion to PNG.
Test : Caption of TC screen (part below button bar) : a BMP of 2 MB (315 colors).
Saved as JPG : 122 KB (10015 colors) - saved as PNG : 44 KB (315 colors)

Although I have my own webspace to place images, and post the URL for forum use, sometimes it can be just an
occasional thing, not worth saving on the webspace.
Then I use the quick method with TinyPic. No registration needed.
Just upload the image, click in the forum box, and copy/paste the "[image]" string on the TC-page.
_________________
0.618033988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Clo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 5731
Location: Bordeaux, France

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:38 pm    Post subject: BUMP ! Reply with quote

2Sam_Zen

Smile Hi Sam !

• Thank you to unearth that topic, the images like we wish are really missing !

• There are many free hosts, for example steekR

- With images, we'ld save time, and avoid a lot of misunderstandings… Rolling Eyes

Mr. Green FR
Claude
Clo
_________________
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 700
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry Clo, but I don't understand the expression 'unearth that topic'.
_________________
0.618033988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9389
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unearting means to dig out something or to bring something back to life. Well I don't know if posting in a sticky unearthes the topic as it is always the header of the bug forum Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 700
Location: NL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the meantime someone at the IrfanView forum is making a new optimization tool : RIOT.
Still beta, but stable. Very suited for image jobs like this. Monitoring pixel-size, quality and filesize.
There are plans to make a plugin-version for IrfanView.
_________________
0.618033988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jervis3008
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wish i could, but i have to post one post without a linked file first. perhaps this post does it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jervis3008
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jervis3008 wrote:
i wish i could, but i have to post one post without a linked file first. perhaps this post does it.


i still can't post a post. What else can i do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 1933
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Jervis3008

AFAIK you have to post 3 posts and your account has to be 3 days old to post urls. But you can simply cut the http:// prefix and write the link like this: imageshack.us/picture0815.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2146

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FenixProductions noted a workaround recently, you can put the "["url"]" in your Sig Smile
_________________
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jervis3008
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you're funny :-)

when i have to wait 3 days ans posts, then it is okay. but the error message, after posting with links to images, says 1 day and 1 post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34739
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked in the sections of the addon - it's set to one day and one post...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Vlad
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The drawback of externally storing images is that you do not control that and one day the image can disappear (AFAIK 3rd party image hosting often host images only for a limited period of time, and some won't allow hotlinking (which they assimilate bandwith stealing) or depending on the forum traffic (i.e. how many time the topic is opened and the image is loaded, the image can be replaced with something different, because the allowed bandwith has been surpassed). So all in all, it'll be completely useless when such a topic is opened only to see the image is gone or not available.
On the other hand, it is true that allowing attaching image to the posts might transform into a disk space problem (with too many images or inappropriate sizes).
I've only offered my insight as I was going to post a bug report, and then I saw this post encouraging us to post images, only to realize this function was not enabled AND that you needed to wait a little and make some posts BEFORE before your account is fully instated, allowing to post image links...

My 2c

Vlad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 928
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are a lot of recommendations on the forum to use imageshack.us as a picture hosting. Now ImageShack is no longer offer image uploads free of charge, so I can recommend Flickr instead. For better organizing it's possible to apply a Screenshots category for screenshots when uploading, and to select license for it from predefined license terms list. And unlike ImageShack and Microsoft OneDrive, Flickr allows to use IE9 or Presto-based Opera browser.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group