New Total Commander 9 icons available for testing!

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
efesreal
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2016-05-12, 15:27 UTC

Post by *efesreal » 2016-05-16, 16:48 UTC


User avatar
krstatzar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2005-03-03, 01:52 UTC
Contact:

Post by *krstatzar » 2016-05-17, 05:05 UTC

In that confirmed features list for TC 9 I think I've seen using native Windows icons as an option. So if icons turns out not that nice I'll use that option :wink:

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8160
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-05-17, 07:21 UTC

It is interesting how TC will use different icon sets. Some icons are embedded into TOTALCMD.exe, some - into WCMICONS.dll, so buttonbar icons can't be changed w/o replacing these two files.

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9435
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2016-05-17, 07:42 UTC

2MVV
It is interesting how TC will use different icon sets. Some icons are embedded into TOTALCMD.exe, some - into WCMICONS.dll, so buttonbar icons can't be changed w/o replacing these two files.
I agree - but what could be an improvement? As each single buttonbar item has an icon property it's a good idea that all buttons displaying internal or custom commands use the same command iconlib.

My idea would be to introduce a 'use standard iconset property' to a command (buttonbar, internal command, user-defined command and so on). In this case the icon and icon index are ignored by the new version. In addition a new setting is added wherever commands are configured globally that let the user choose a command iconlib.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8160
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-05-17, 07:55 UTC

Perhaps icon replacement may be done with respect to TC iconlibs (i.e. if some iconlib is used, TC transparently substitutes buttonbar buttons that refer to its own TOTALCMD.exe/WCMICONS.dll files with ones from iconlib).
Perhaps iconlib system could be improved by adding descriptor file allowing replacing any internal icon with some icon from some library, e.g.:

Code: Select all

[mappings]
1=myicons.dll,1
2=myicons.dll,2
...
69=wcmicons.dll,26
...

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9435
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2016-05-17, 08:45 UTC

Here is another idea. Always display wcmcions.dll as icon but introduce a setting that overrules wcmicons.dll. So actually a different comdlib would e used. The downside of this is that TC would have to perforn a two-step mapping. First look in wcmicons.inc and then in the overruling inc file for a matching icon.
Last edited by Lefteous on 2016-05-17, 12:40 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

phantom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Post by *phantom » 2016-05-17, 11:47 UTC

@efesreal, thanks for your icon libraries. I like these icons. Do you have also a standard icon bar for these icons. How can I install your icons to Total Commander?

User avatar
krstatzar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2005-03-03, 01:52 UTC
Contact:

Post by *krstatzar » 2016-05-17, 16:01 UTC

to apply these icons in TC go to Configuration>Change Settings Files directly> and add a line
IconLib=c:\Program Files (x86)\totalcmd\Wcmicons.dll

under part
[Configuration]


First extract the icons to desired location in my case it was
c:\Program Files (x86)\totalcmd\Wcmicons.dll

phantom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Post by *phantom » 2016-05-17, 16:28 UTC

The Wcmicons.dll offer from efesreal is much larger and the icons have an other order.

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9435
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2016-05-17, 18:00 UTC

2krstatzar
to apply these icons in TC go to Configuration>Change Settings Files directly> and add a line
IconLib=c:\Program Files (x86)\totalcmd\Wcmicons.dll
Jesus! Don't assign a command lib as filelist icon lib! :shock:

We desperately need a UI for this stuff.

User avatar
krstatzar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2005-03-03, 01:52 UTC
Contact:

Post by *krstatzar » 2016-05-17, 19:27 UTC

2Lefteous
Your memory is really amazing :shock:


Yes UI would be nice.
C'mon wanna check that beta out. Spring is almost over though :D

efesreal
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2016-05-12, 15:27 UTC

Post by *efesreal » 2016-05-17, 20:12 UTC

IconLib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\flat_FileIcons.dll

I'm working on other icons and bar icons. Planning complete all command icons (left ~150 icons). But i'm hardworking. Sorry.

User avatar
Jordi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 2004-12-17, 18:30 UTC

Post by *Jordi » 2016-05-18, 09:47 UTC

Can't you or won't you upload your files to a trustworthy site?
Jordi

phantom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Post by *phantom » 2016-05-18, 11:49 UTC

efesreal wrote:IconLib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\flat_FileIcons.dll

I'm working on other icons and bar icons. Planning complete all command icons (left ~150 icons). But i'm hardworking. Sorry.
Thank you for your tipp! Now I've also added a new DriveLib.

Did you create these icons yourself? I think this must be a really hard work. I don't try to ask, but did you have also create new drive icons?
For the moment I've took the "drives.dll" from Totalcmd.net (tc_disk_icons v.1.0). :wink:

Best regards!

efesreal
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2016-05-12, 15:27 UTC

Post by *efesreal » 2016-05-18, 11:58 UTC

phantom wrote:Did you create these icons yourself? I think this must be a really hard work. I don't try to ask, but did you have also create new drive icons?
I didn't create. I collect, combine, edit, sometime create each of them.
For the moment I've took the "drives.dll" from Totalcmd.net (tc_disk_icons v.1.0). :wink:
I'm using this to.

Sorry my English by the way. :?

Post Reply