This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

difficult to access to root in units

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:05 pm    Post subject: difficult to access to root in units Reply with quote

I use tabs and a constant nuisance is how to access to the root of the units. The tabs are locked but directory changes are allowed, that is for me the more practical setting. But if I'm in a tab of D:/ in a nested folder and want to return to the root there is no easy way to do it.

Selecting the unit D:\ in the unit buttons will do nothing and will remain the folder of the tab. Using the \ symbol will do nothing again. The only thing that works is using several times the .. that is what at the end I do.

As alternative is possible to press ctrl+\ or even more practical central mouse over the unit button. But even it seems that both solve the problem in reality they create an even worse problem. They create a new tab each time that are used. Not only that, when new tabs are created cluttering the tabs, they are also scrolling to the right to the point it is not possible to see the original tabs. That means this is not a valid option and I return to click multiple times the double point.

Am I missing a solution that could do this easier?
Shocked Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
umbra
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 765

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I want to navigate quickly up in a folder hierarchy, I use either the breadcrumb bar or keyboard arrows.

The breadcrumb bar is clickable, so I simply click on a folder (e.g. root) where I want to end up.

And I have my left arrow configured to jump to parent folder and right arrow to enter a folder/archive. So navigating in complex folder/archive structures is very quick - I'm just pressing four nearby arrows instead of arrows+Backspace+Enter.

Another way would be adding "LockedGoToDriveRoot=1" to your wincmd.ini. That would change the behavior and always took you to the drive root instead of tab root.
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've set LockedGoToDriveRoot=1 and Ctrl+Shift+\ mapped to cm_GoToLockedDir so Ctrl+\ opens drive root regardless of tab state and I can always open locked dir with Ctrl+Shift+\.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I have set LockedGoToDriveRoot=1 and this solves my problem
But I think this should be the default behavior instead editing a text doc to correct it.
Clicking in the path bar (I guess this is the bread thing) is unprecise when clicking the root as a lot of times opens the units list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clicking \ changes directory to drive root, even if the tab is locked, but directory change is allowed. At least that's true for my systems. I don't have set LockedGoToDriveRoot option.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai, it never has been the case for me, and I'm using this program since the first version. Also other installations in other computers react in the same way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai,
Nope, you can test with clean INI, '\' button in drive bar goes to locked dir in case of locked (with allowed directory change) tab. But it works consistently when LockedGoToDriveRoot=1 is set.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2MVV
Ah, now I see the difference: I locked the tab in the drive's root, and changed dirs after that.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group