Single file handled as name duplicate in MRT
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
But what is running in that virtual machine? Linux? Windows? Which version?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Sorry, seems like you misunderstood me. I didn't ask about the system you are running on, but the target. You wrote: "try network folder"
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Maybe it's because OS/X is Unix-based, so case-sensitive?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
It means that the MoveFile call apparently fails - TC only offers this option if
- the MoveFile call fails
and
- the target name exists
TC doesn't even check whether the target and source name are the same because MoveFile should never fail in this case. Maybe you can see in process monitor with which error it fails?
- the MoveFile call fails
and
- the target name exists
TC doesn't even check whether the target and source name are the same because MoveFile should never fail in this case. Maybe you can see in process monitor with which error it fails?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
Just to make sure we are talking about the same thing. I'm _not_ talking about this dialog. The wrong renaming is done fully automatically.It means that the MoveFile call apparently fails - TC only offers this option if
[img]http://fs5.directupload.net/images/160802/38fghnhc.png[/img]
Will try that!TC doesn't even check whether the target and source name are the same because MoveFile should never fail in this case. Maybe you can see in process monitor with which error it fails?
Here is the log:
http://lefteous.totalcmd.net/tc/bugs/thread_45030_log1.pml
After some research it seems that this is a known problem - whatever causes it.
I also tested it in SpeedCommander where the author works on a Mac with Parallels and it has the same problem when manually renaming.
The question is now what to do. I think it's about how it's handled. While before it silently failed which is at least better than the auto-renaming in this environment.
For me a workaround would be the best solution for the case where ONLY the case is changed. Something like this:
1. User wants to rename Hallo.txt - HALLO.txt
2. TC checks if special INI setting is active and path is not local
3. If this is the case rename Hallo.txt to #______123_temp.txt
4. Rename #______123_temp.txt to HALLO.txt
http://lefteous.totalcmd.net/tc/bugs/thread_45030_log1.pml
After some research it seems that this is a known problem - whatever causes it.
I also tested it in SpeedCommander where the author works on a Mac with Parallels and it has the same problem when manually renaming.
The question is now what to do. I think it's about how it's handled. While before it silently failed which is at least better than the auto-renaming in this environment.
For me a workaround would be the best solution for the case where ONLY the case is changed. Something like this:
1. User wants to rename Hallo.txt - HALLO.txt
2. TC checks if special INI setting is active and path is not local
3. If this is the case rename Hallo.txt to #______123_temp.txt
4. Rename #______123_temp.txt to HALLO.txt
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I have now added some extra code to not append number when renaming files and source+target name are identical, or differ only in case. I have considered to rename via an intermediate name, but this is risky (may overwrite currently hidden files), so maybe later.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50550
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
OK, moving to fixed for now. If Parallels cannot fix it, I will consider to add the workaround.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com