Well please also consider the special case of
- having open the same text file on both side
- enter edit mode modify
- and then save both.
Only change of one side is saved,
Other changes gets lost/overwritten.
Background: used it to edit source code file that have two nearly simulare functions that I liked to unite into one. To align them I used 'Resyncronise'